the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

I'm Tofu 565

10.16.2004

10:44 pm

The thing about tofu is that it has no taste of its own; it takes on the flavor of whatever other stuff (sauce, vegetables) you surround it with. My sister has long described her first husband as tofu, as he never seemed to have a defined personality of his own, and just took on the opinions and tastes of whoever was dominating him at the moment.

I'm not that kind of tofu. I know who I am. I am television tofu.

As you might guess by the fact that I have almost always had a field in my diary to show what I'm watching on TV at the moment, I always have the TV on. Always. If I'm alone in the house and taking a shower, there's a TV on in the house somewhere. It makes me feel like I'm not alone. If I'm on the computer, it's background noise. If I'm listening to music, or on the phone, the TV is still on, but the sound is muted.

What the hell am I watching all the time?

All kinds of things, some that interest me, some that's just ambient noise and video while I'm doing other things. There are shows that I watch, that I enjoy, although the Hubs and I watch almost none of the same stuff, and generally do not watch in the same room anyway. But when either or both of the girls are home, I watch with them (because the family room is my territory; my desk and computer are here), and I will generally give up control of the remote to them and watch whatever they want to watch.

Because I am television tofu.

When K came home from school last spring, she was on a Roseanne kick, so I started watching that every day at 6:00 because it was what she put on. R is not so much the Roseanne fan; I haven't seen it once since she came home last month. K and I got all weepily into Extreme Home Makeover all summer, which R is not interested in at all. So I haven't seen that one. The only show I tape and watch on my own is Joan of Arcadia.

The goofiest thing that I've gotten into, with both of them actually, is Degrassi, The Next Generation. What can I say. A run-of-the-mill teenage Canadian soap opera that is oddly compelling. I became very popular with a kid at school last week when I told her I shared her Degrassi obsession. (It was her computer wallpaper.)

I am watching three, I think, hour long dramas this season, which is more than I've watched in years and years. Two new shows, and one that's new for me. That one is Gilmore Girls, an R fave since its inception, which I now share, because I've taken on that flavor to an extreme. Gilmore Girls, goooood.

I'm watching the two new shows with R, too, and really enjoying them. One is Jack and Bobby, but the other one, Lost, is really gripping. I don't think I've ever watched this kind of show before, suspenseful and mysterious. I never could watch The X-Files, for example. It was creepy. Lost is just very, very good.

So a couple of hours ago, R suggested that I select from two shows she had found for tonight, because there just wasn't anything I would have picked myself, so I didn't care. That's it, I think; if I let them pick, it's a decision I don't have to make. If I'm watching TV and she comes into the room -- or K, when she's home -- I hand over the remote as she comes in. Like now, she's in the shower and I've got the History channel on, but I'm not attached to what I'm watching. When she comes back, she can put on anything she wants.

So our selections for tonight -- she generally asks, doesn't just pick something and stick me with it -- were the Growing Pains movie or Something's Gotta Give. Hmm. Growing Pains, always hated that show, although the girls liked it. Jack Nicholson, what on earth makes him a romantic lead? Come on, Jack Nicholson! I'm not a fan. Anyway, we went with the real movie, which just ended about twenty minutes ago.

Good choice. Very interesting movie, especially for the over 50 set. Diane Keaton was 55 or 56 when this movie was made, and yes, she has a nude scene, although from a distance. Wow. Courage, really. Good movie; I liked it.

It all depends on the sauce. Good sauce, good tofu.

P.S. R got the job. Yay!

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching She's got the remote
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here