the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

I Only Wanted to Make Them Happy 571

10.25.2004

8:59 pm

In my quest to digitize every videotape I have ever possessed, I'm working today on The Norman Conquests. If you've never seen it ... well, tough, it's almost never on TV and can't be bought, so there you go. It was originally on TV in the pre-videotape days, and we managed to snag a recording of it maybe 15 years ago on Bravo. It is the funniest damn play I ever saw. In fact, it's the three funniest plays. Here's the idea: six people are at a country house in England for the weekend. That's it. There are three plays that all take place simultaneously, but in three different rooms. So you don't know the whole story until you've seen all three plays. Today I'm copying part 1, which takes place in the kitchen, and is called "Table Manners." It sucks up a tremendous amount of computer resources to do this, so the Internet moves slowly and I can't do much else while it's working.

(One of the six people, by the way, is Norman, an oversexed librarian (!) who says about every woman, including his wife, her sister, and her sister-in-law, "But I only wanted to make them happy!" Ahem.)

I just had an amazing piece of pumpkin cheesecake that R brought home from work. Yes, I am no longer counting WW points. In case you were wondering.

Had a swell evacuation drill today, nothing like a brisk walk to the football field. Where was that sun we were supposed to have, mmm? At least they didn't make us stay there to watch a game against our will, like they did last year.

Have I mentioned the malfunctioning of the assistive listening devices? BOO! HISS! I get random bursts of static throughout the day, which is most distracting, let me tell you. These were not cheap trinkets and they better fix them, that's all I can say. Sadly, no audiologist appointment was available until next Monday. I should keep an ear trumpet as a backup.

Ah, file's done. I can now type without fear of freeze up every second. Oh wait, I've run out of things to say.

Did anybody see that PBS series Broadway last week? (Pinkkate? Are you there? I know you saw it!) Anyway, I saw most of it, here and there, and now I'm in musicals mode. I absolutely loved musicals as a child; my parents had albums and I memorized them. (They were both fans of opera -- a gene that skipped a generation -- and musicals.) The first musical I saw was The Sound of Music when I was 8 or 9, by which time I was listening to the original cast album daily. I'm a particular fan of Rodgers and Hammerstein. So I've been listening to music, starting this morning with Oklahoma and then moving into Carousel; this afternoon I moved beyond R & H and listened to Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat. Yum, loved it. I even had this one on an 8-track, would you believe. Yes, I am that old.

I'm intrigued by the process in some states whereby people have already voted. I don't get it, but I'm intrigued by it and think everyone should do it. We vote here via somewhat large machines with touch screens. We used similar machines but with levers until about 15 years ago, and I know my parents voted on those same lever machines in 1960; I remember going with Jack to vote for Kennedy. Anyway, I'll be waiting on line next Tuesday morning when the polls open at 7:00 a.m. I always vote first thing, on my way to work. It's easier to park then, and I don't have to keep reminding myself all day to go on the way home. Although I could come home and then walk there, but it's never occurred to me do that. I hadn't known until the last election that there was anyplace that used punchcards, or for that matter, paper ballots at all. The punchcard thing seems very bizarre to me, although I suppose if that's what you know, then it's normal for you.

It's nearly 9:00. I can't believe how tired I am.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Gilmore Girls DVD
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here