the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

A Trip to Freak-Me-Out World 576

10.29.2004

3:49 pm

I may have neglected to mention this, probably because I'm blocking it out. A couple of weeks ago, the SCM told me that his wife is interested in getting into online journaling, both to write her own and to read others, and he wonders if I have any advice for her on how to get started.

Let me see... blogger ... blogspot ... livejournal ... there must be others .... there must be ...

The name "diaryland" did not cross my lips. Please, let them not know that diaryland exists. The last thing I want is for her to join diaryrings or do a search or something and stumble across my humble little site somehow. I wish her well and all, but someone I know coming across my place here just feels like a violation. Not that I don't talk about it in a vague way, especially with my girls, but I trust them not to track it down. The SCM, not so much. Not only would he actively look for such a thing, he would read all of it and want to discuss it with me. I don't need that in the 3D world. I'm discussing it now, here, with you, right? Isn't that the plan?

I'm just having an annoying week with him ever since I realized that he now plans to take off the day before or the day after every school vacation or long weekend. His SCMness knows no bounds.

In other news, I'm going in. First thing in the morning, I'll be reformatting the computer and starting over from scratch. I have no idea how this is going to go; I only know that each time in the past that I've had to reformat a hard drive -- maybe five times -- I vowed that I would never ever do this again. Maybe I can talk myself out of it by then.

In today's episode of "All Machines Hate Me And Want Me To Die", my camera battery gave out today right at the beginning of the Seniors' costume parade, which usually provides excellent website fodder. On the other hand, I got to enjoy it all without having to feel like I was working. There were excellent costumes this year, including eight little girls in two straight lines (they were the Madelines), a group of cowboys (all girls) who were followed by a herd of cows and preceded by a rolling tumbleweed wherever they walked, and a kid dressed like the guy in the Operation game, who even rigged up a battery to a set of barbecue tongs so that he could make the noise whenever he touched one of the body parts. The funniest was two girls who dressed up as Hooters girls in their eighties. They walked with canes, had gray wigs on, and their ... well, hooters, were down near their waists. It was a very good Halloween year for the high school, where only the seniors (and any teachers who want to) dress up. No costumes were innappropriate and and no one was sent home. (Two of the art teachers, a young couple who are married to each other, came as Frida Kahlo and Diego Rivera. Very clever.)

Speaking of bad machines, the huge diesel construction contraptions right outside my window were belching their horrible fumes today, and by 2:30, both the Colleague and I were all sleepy and headachy. Less than a month to go on this parking lot project, so I'm told. I can't wait until they start putting down the blacktop.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Dr. Phil
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here