the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Still Kicking 577

10.30.2004

8:54 pm

Or, to be more precise, kicking again. I reformatted the computer yesterday after school, and except for some details, I'm done. What I've got left is a whole lot of tweaking to do, and since that's what I enjoy doing most on the computer -- I don't play games, I change wallpaper and fonts for fun -- I'll just do it as I go along, with each program as I open it. So far, I've discovered that my external hard drive and my DVD burner were/are not working, but the computer itself is okay. I knew you were worried.

I worked a normal Friday yesterday, from about 7:00 am to 2:45 pm. So that's ... seven hours and fifteen minutes. I was on the computer at home from 3:00 to 12:30. That's nine and a half hours. And today from about 10 until now, so that's like ten hours; I took time off to eat today. Too bad I don't get paid to do this instead of actually going to work.

I swear I had something more interesting than this to write about when I started. I must really be fried after all of this; I can't imagine now what it could have been.

One of my projects for tomorrow is to finally make a Christmas list so I can start gathering in the goods. It's a far cry from the years when I had almost all of my shopping done by September 1. (Oh come on, you're not surprised, really, are you?) I must admit though that it takes a lot of the fun out of Christmas when there aren't eager little kids unwrapping scads of toys before seven on Christmas morning. Now they both sleep in, and when they get up, they unwrap the DVDs that they asked for and that's pretty much it. Then of course we drive down to the shore for dinner with the Hubs' fam, so that sucks up a whole lot of hours. Anyway, it's time to start ordering whatever I need to get. The MIL has gotten herself involved in a chapter of The Red Hat Society, so I'll see if I can get her something along those lines.

R made seared tuna for dinner, which was quite good. Once again, let me reiterate: having adult children is very nice.

Maybe I'll have a slightly more functioning brain tomorrow. I wouldn't count on it, but it could happen.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching VH1
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here