the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Okay, Let's See 578

11.01.2004

6:45 pm

I got my hearing aids fixed today after school, a very good thing. Turned out to be a simple thing, replacing the cord that attaches them together behind my head. The audiologist then tells me that there are now hearing aids available for me that are digital and wireless. Great, mine are only a year and half old, and let me tell you, these things cost twice as much as my computer. So I'm not replacing them soon. I'm just glad that the static is gone.

I got to skip a faculty meeting to go to the audiologist and I was all excited over that, but of course, this was one of those "social" faculty meetings where there's no agenda, just refreshments. We have these once or twice a year, and I always miss them for one reason or another. Again, excellent timing.

So here's the weird thing that was supposed to happen this evening, but turned out not to. As many of you will probably agree, husbands are just weird. Mine tells me last night that oh, by the way, he spoke to an insurance agent who's taken over one of our policies, and the guy is coming by tonight at seven to discuss ... whatever, insurance. And oh, by the way, he turns out to be someone we went to high school with who happens also to be married to someone we went to high school with. And the Hubs knew this when? Maybe a couple of weeks ago.

So of course I had to come home from work, after the audiologist, and vacuum and clean and stuff, because the last thing I want is this guy to go home and tell his wife that my house was dirty. I haven't seen either one of them in about 30 years, but for some reason, that seemed important. Even though, as I told R when she got home from work, I was fairly certain that her father would have cancelled this appointment somehow without telling me, which is of course what he did. He told me when he got home from work, around 5:30.

This isn't original with me, and I don't know where I got it from, but it bears repeating:

Husbands: Can't live with them. Can't kill them.

Heh heh.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Seinfeld
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here