the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

I Am a Cacophony of Aromas 581

11.05.2004

6:07 pm

I don't know of a word that means to scent what cacophony means to sound, but whatever that word is, that's what I am. I enjoyed the benefit today of a pedicure/facial/haircut extravanganza, and I've got more product on me than a Miss America contestant. I love that, product, to mean what you put on your hair, etc. Product. Heh heh.

The guy who cuts my hair, to whom I've been going for about 12 years, was a sad man today, and understandably. The state in which he was born and raised has just officially declared him a second class citizen by passing a referendum that says he is a member of a group whose rights are to be legally restricted. He hasn't lived there for quite some time -- I wonder why -- but nonetheless. I also started reading Philip Roth's The Plot Against America today, so I'm likely to feel paranoid and morose for a few days to come. Sorry.

In fact, I'm going to go nuke something from the freezer for dinner and get back to the book. The sooner I finish, the sooner I'll return to the real world, where fascists are hopefully not lurking behind every door. If I cheer up, I'll write over the weekend.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Wings
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here