the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

But I Have Other Fine Qualities 590

11.15.2004

7:04 pm

I got this from gem-chan, although I also got it from golfwidow, which is where she got it from. I can't follow the directions, though, since I'm doing it twice, because I have two books close at hand.
  1. Grab the nearest book.
  2. Open the book to page 23.
  3. Find the fifth sentence.
  4. Post the text of the sentence in your journal ... along with these instructions.
1) "On the green one-cent stamp in the educators group, just above the picture of the Lamp of Knowledge, was Horace Mann; on the red two-cent, Mark Hopkins; on the purple three-cent, Charles W. Eliot; on the blue four-cent, Frances E. Willard; on the brown ten-cent was Booker T. Washington, the first Negro to appear on an American stamp."

This is from The Plot Against America, by Philip Roth. He writes the longest sentences anywhere; the fifth sentence on the page was about 3/4 of the way down.

2) "Some gave more conspicuously in spiritual things while others gave in material gifts."

From God Has a Dream by Desmond Tutu. I have yet to finish this one, because I want to read it slowly and really get it. What a remarkable man he is.



I have had the weirdest afternoon. First, they were steamrolling the ground for the new parking lot outside my window and it felt like a 4 point earthquake. Then we had to take a faculty group picture after school, all of us sitting on the bleachers like misbehaving twelve-year-olds. I got home and found a note from R to the effect that the toaster was dead. I checked, it was dead. So I went to get a new toaster. (I am death to toasters. Not that in the sense that they fear me. Toasters mock me. Then they die.) Anyway, so I parked at Linens and Things and managed to catch my cell phone falling out of my bag before I lost it. I went in and there was not a decent toaster to be had. I came out to the car and found my wallet on the ground next to the car. I went to Bed Bath and Beyond and bought a toaster, which seals its fate, anyway. I think it's even bigger than the dead one we already had which never quite fit on the shelf and I had to enlarge the shelf with cutting boards to make it stay there. I stopped at Quizno's, came home. Started to take away the dead toaster when I realized the clock was off on the coffee pot (plugged into the same power strip). Checked the outlet and managed to blow the circuit breaker for the whole kitchen. Went to the basement, fixed the circuit breaker. Fixed the clocks on the microwave and stove, waited for the cable box to come back on. Took away the toaster and sat it on the kitchen table, and plugged it in there. Voila. Toast. As am I. (Heh heh.) Anyway, now we've got a backup toaster, because this one is certainly on borrowed time. Moved the reanimated toaster to its personal location and plugged it in. Dead. Searched the basement for a new power strip, but there was none to be had. Thinking ... thinking ... Ah. The little circuit breaker button on the end of the power strip has been pushed in. Pushed it out, and (you know the drill) voila. Toast.

But, as the Sibs and I are wont to say when we keep getting getting in our own way, I have other fine qualities. And it was a damn good sandwich.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Daily Show
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here