the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Cranky D-land 601

11.30.2004

6:50 pm

I've been trying to upload a picture, but it won't let me tonight, so I'll try again tomorrow. I got the neatest shot this morning -- four of them, actually -- of an incredible blue and pink sunrise-y sky, just as I pulled into the high school parking lot at about 6:45 this morning. Okay, that sounds excessively early, but if I get there early, I walk a mile through the corridors from 7:00 to 7:15. Anyway, the sky was gorgeous. Tomorrow.

I have got the weirdest headache just about now, so I probably won't write much. I'm not going in to work tomorrow -- yay me! -- and if I'm still in the mood, I'm getting my new tattoo, so maybe I'll post a picture of that, too, although it probably won't look like much on day 1.

The oddest thing I did today was register for a course. After I finished the M.Ed. ... is it four years ago already? Five? Anyway, I vowed that I would never take another class as long as I lived. So there's a promise I didn't keep, but in a good way. First, it's an online course, and I've never done that before, so I like not having to go anywhere. Next, it's from the Rutgers Library School, whence came my degree nearly 30 years ago, so it's in my field and all, which means that my school district will reimburse me for it. Best of all, it's a course in Children's Literature and Film. I am actually taking a graduate level class where the curriculum is Beauty and the Beast, The Little Mermaid, and Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (which at this point I think I could recite verbatim.) So how cool is that?

As long as they don't make me write a paper and have to use the APA style for documentation. Man, I hate that shit. My new project at work is to revise the stylebook for the kids which explains documentation and such, and I can handle the MLA -- I've been living and breathing it steadily for about a week now -- but that other one is just incredibly non-intuitive to me. Okay, that was my professional-garbage-of-interest-to-no-one-on-earth tidbit for the evening.

Sunrise tomorrow.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Seinfeld
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here