the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Taking a Big Risk Here 603

12.02.2004

8:23 pm

I would never want to cause the golfwidow any sort of juice and nose related distress, but honestly, when I was telling Mr. Tattoo Man what color I wanted for my new inky thing, I hemmed and hawed and avoided it as long as I could but then finally had to admit to him that what I wanted was ... a kind of ... eggplant. R almost snorted out her coffee when I said it, if that makes you feel any better.

Oooh, how excited am I? I ran some banners just for the hell of it and a nice new person left me a comment! Thanks!

In other news, the Colleague is away for a few days, which always puts the life of the SCM at serious risk indeed. I'm sorry, he's a sanctimonious asshole. We drifted into a conversation today based on this, and I mentioned that in Desmond Tutu's book, which I'm still working through, he says that if someone believes in God, well then God is love and loves everybody the same, so how can you hate anybody when you should already know that God loves that person as much as he loves you? To me, this sounds nice. To the SCM, it sounds like voodoo. He is not only a non-believer in God, which is certainly his right, he believes that anyone who does believe in God is probably not as smart as "others" -- read, as he is -- and does so out of a foolish misunderstanding of the world in general. Why doesn't everyone see that empirical proof is the only thing that matters? So I asked him if what he was saying, in effect, is that anyone who doesn't agree with him is simply and objectively speaking, wrong? After a moment, he admitted that although he wouldn't put it that way, that was pretty much the case. As for me, I can't believe that anyone who thinks of himself as so liberal and enlightened is such a narrow-minded bigot. I do realize that different people believe different things when it comes to God and faith, and I find those differences, as long as we all realize that they exist and have a right to, enriching and fascinating. I think the world would be a nicer place if the SCM thought more along the lines of Desmond Tutu, but it's also okay that he doesn't. I just wish he wouldn't be so judgemental about other people, you know? It kind of deflates his whole argument and just makes him look like a crackpot. Which again, who would care, except that I still have to spend my workdays with him.

(And now for a little background: my father always called himself an agnostic, but when I pushed him for a little more clarification in his later years, he seemed way more atheist than agnostic to me. Yet he had tremendous respect for people who were true believers and took their religion very seriously, among them my grandfather -- his father-in-law -- and Billy Graham. He was a big Billy Graham fan. Go figure.)

The SCM also asked the Big Tattoo Question this morning, and I was totally prepared with the sneering, arrogant reply:

"Did it hurt?"

Cue the incredulous look that says "How stupid are you?" and the reply: "Uh ... yeah!"

I love it. Even though I asked the same stupid question of everyone before I got one myself. Why would anyone think that it wouldn't hurt, I wonder?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Joey
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here