the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

No Whine, Please 607

12.08.2004

6:39 pm

I'm way less cranky today, anyway, although my sinuses are killing me and my stomach's been weird all day. I went to do some errands after school, without much success actually, and on my way home I decided I had to stop at the deli for some chicken soup and a couple of matzo balls because I'm Sick! Somehow, so I deserved soup. I was standing there for 15 minutes while these two escapees from Goodbye Columbus ordered a little of this, a little of that, a little of every freaking thing in the place.

"Can I have the seedless rye -- no, that one -- " and when the bread was all wrapped up and the deli guy was onto the next thing, "Oh, I'll take the challah, too, sliced" and then "Is that eggplant salad? I'll have ... oh, I don't know ... a quarter pound." and on and on ad infinitum. Two of them. It was like being in a Nanny sandwich.

So I rewarded myself with a half dozen latkes, too. I promised K I wouldn't make latkes until she comes home next week, but I didn't promise I wouldn't eat any. Heh heh. I like mine better, even though I make them from a mix, they're really hot and crispy and small, since I drop the batter into the oil from a big tablespoon. The ones I got from the deli were more like hamburger size and not the crispy kind, but very nice. And eating seems to have had a positive effect on my headache, somehow, so that's good too.

I also began the day, when I got to work, with one of these. There's no pain involved, but I can't read when I have one and all I want is to close my eyes and stay in the dark till it goes away, so I took the hood off my jacket and covered my head with it for about twenty minutes. I looked very cool indeed.

Okay, gotta make a couple of calls. And then watch Lost. Mmm boy.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Golden Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here