the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

And So This is Christmas 621

12.25.2004

9:17 pm

It's 9 PM, Christmas. Time to feed the cat and go to sleep.

Following up my Christmas Eve dinner fiasco of last night, I also didn't check the ingredients on the bread I bought and it had egg in it, so Hubs made the garlic bread but couldn't eat it. He did say that he wasn't really hungry and was very nice about the whole thing, but there was little doubt left that I had not exactly made a stellar meal. Hey, not what I'm known for.

Altogether, not a bad day. I got some really lovely things from those people I live with: the new Cary Grant biography, a Fraggle Rock DVD that just came out, a Mickey Mouse Monopoly set, and a massage/vibrating back pillow. The coolest thing, though, is that the Hubs, who collects old maps of all things, and looks at these map and document websites, ordered me a war bond from World War II. A Disney war bond. I'll try to get a picture of it up tomorrow. It's got dwarfs and things all over it. He also picked up a frame, so he gave it to me framed and matted and it looks really, really nice. So much for his shopping at the last minute, since he obviously didn't.

The ILs gave me a bathrobe and slippers, and a pin. In fact, they give me some kind of pin every year. Okay, it's thoughtful, I guess, but I've never put a pin on any clothes I wear -- I seem to lack that skill -- but I'm going to let that go now. She's 77 years old, whatever she takes the trouble to go out and get is damn nice of her. Anyway, I'll put up that picture tomorrow, too.

I ate a great deal of food today. I knew I was going to, and I enjoyed it. That Sticky Toffee Pudding is DA BOMB! Whatever the hell that means; good, right? It's REALLY GOOD. Here's the recipe, by the way. We had it with whipped cream, but you can also use sweetened heavy cream or vanilla ice cream. We also had some Kinder-Eggs, but not the ones in this link, ones that K brought back from Germany. Before we left, everyone was playing with the kinder-egg toys; my niece was especially fascinated by them. (She's 21.) K herself has a big collection of the toys in a giant ziploc bag; she says that in Berlin, she had them all lined up on shelves as if it was some sort of warped Glass Menagerie; a Kinder-Egg Menagerie, as it were.

The three hours in the car got me this close to the end of the Azkaban audiobook, so I'm going to go to bed now with the earphone in and finish it up. Tomorrow, illustrated.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Seinfeld
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here