the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

And Then .. 622

12.26.2004

5:13 pm

I forgot one of the highlights of Christmas Day at the ILs. It was when the MIL was relating a story about how she forgot to do something or other when she was making the soup, and then she woke up at four in the morning, and said to herself "Shit! I forgot ..." I thought both of my daughters were going to swallow their tongues. I believe that they have NEVER heard this grandmother swear before. My mother was the swearing grandma, the one who would also say to her grandchildren when they came to visit, "What's the matter, you're not smoking? Did you run out? Do you need a cigarette, or a pack? Here."

Here's yesterday's pin:



K says that these bug pins are in style. In fact, the SIL gave one to her mother yesterday, too.

Here's the war bond:



And in a little more detail:



Tomorrow we shop. Not only do we have a whole lot to get for K to take back to school with her, including a bed and a desk, I've got those pesky returns. The earphone I got for Hubs' cell phone, it turns out, is not compatible, so back it goes. At the moment, they're saying maybe 5 inches of snow tomorrow morning; I hope that doesn't put a wrench in my plans. Doesn't IT know it's only supposed to snow when it can close a school, and not on vacation, when I've got a lot to do?



Hours later ...

According to all reports, we're about to get a real storm. So far, only a dusting, but we'll see what happens. I seriously need to get out and get things done tomorrow. Because my dear younger daughter is driving me crazy.

For one, her computer is on its last legs, and installing the new Simz isn't helping it. We need to get her a new computer TOMORROW, and it'll be worth it to me to see the end of her constant moaning and hurling small objects, today's past-time. She also had an epiphany about five hours ago in which she realized that "we" hadn't planned well, since we're taking a carload of stuff to DC on Wednesday and there's no way "we" can be ready by then. Oh, really? Perhaps she does not recall that "I" began to suggest preparing for this move the day after she got home. Was "I" supposed to pack her clothes and whatnot? "I" think not. "I" have now moved boxes in the basement so that "she" can figure out what to do. "I" even carried a couple of them upstairs. "She" is now on her own. (And then, post mini-meltdown, she had something to eat and suddenly I was being hugged and "Thank you, mommy" 'd all over the place. Man, she must have some kind of blood sugar issue going on.)

This whole packing/moving/buying experience is not my favorite one to repeat year after year, y'know? Maybe now that she's moving into an apartment, a certain amount of the repetition is over, anyway. "One" can only hope.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Royal Tenenbaums
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here