the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

More of the Same 624

12.28.2004

4:18 pm

I got a later start to my list-managing today because K slept til 9, and then informed me that we had to be home by 11 so that she could get ready to go out for lunch with a friend. In the meantime, I spent scads more money on her and my living room once again looks like the staging area for the Normandy invasion, except now it's got a Christmas tree in it too.

In discussing various furniture options yesterday, R mentioned the desk that I agreed she needed, and said something about not wanting to get just anything, because if she gets the right thing now, it will be her desk for life. Uh ... what? I got my perfect desk for life when I was 50. Yes, I was pissed off. For someone who says she really doesn't have need for a job that pays a huge amount because she has simple needs, she's seriously deluded. I had a $45 assemble-it-yourself desk from Bradlee's -- remember Bradlee's? -- from the time I moved into my house until about a year and a half ago. I've only just gotten some real furniture (i.e., made from wood and not sawdust) in the last year. Hey, kid, wake up. If you want an oak desk, get a better job. That's how it works.

Continuing in this vein of "I work and slave for you people, and this is the gratitude I get?" I'm off to DC at about 8 tomorrow morning with a carload of the kid's crap and stuff. I'll be back on Thursday, but I'm supposedly going to be able to get online in the hotel. We shall see. Shan't we.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Ellen
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here