the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Making a List and Checking It ... Lots of Times 623

12.27.2004

9:00 pm

I set my alarm today -- vacation -- so I could get up early and attack my list of things to do. I have a love/hate relationship with To Do lists. I must make them, and then they control me totally until I have crossed off every item on the list.

My day began with one of my most favorite little psychotic adventures: A sale at CVS of the Big Three: Bounty towels, Charmin toilet paper, and liquid Tide. I scored me some excellent bargains and made multiple trips to the car and then to the house when I got home. I have inherited my father's paralyzing fear, apparently, that there will be a nuclear holocaust and I will no longer be able to purchase toilet paper, and so I must Be Prepared. I crossed CVS off my list. And Mail; there's a mailbox right out front. Two at once.

By the time I got home, K was awake and off we went. Best Buy was not yet open, but Target was. I got the furnace filters that have been on my list for, like, ever, and a new toilet seat. Wow, a new toilet seat! (And a very cute sale t-shirt, bright pink, with the Where the Wild Things Are monsters on it. Love Sendak!) Cross off Target.

Back to Best Buy for laptop shopping. And now for the editorial. If I hear one more person say about the really large mail-order computer company that starts with D -- as in Dude! -- and how their customer service is so good because they replaced a computer's defective hard drive twice already, I shall scream. Yikes. If they had to replace the hard drive twice while the machine was under warranty, then wake up, the computer is crap. The prices at BB were too high for a computer that wasn't exactly what the kid needed anyway, and so she threatened the sales guy with "Well, we're going to see what they have at Circuit City, thank you." and off we went. Scratch BB off the list.

On to CC. Better computer, better price. An HP. Cost half what the D cost only 2 and half years ago, so I'm not expecting the same I expected from the now defunct D. Another two and a half years would be nice, thank you. Put a line through CC.

Linens and Things, a sad dissapointment in that we got no sheets for her new apartment bed, in part because we have no bed yet and only this morning did I discover that she would like to have a "big girl" bed, i.e., full size and not a twin. Since we have no beds of any size laying around the house unused, we'll have to call the mattress by phone people when we get to DC on Wednesday. I see a full-size bed in my future, or at least, hers. Say goodbye to L-n-T.

Ikea. (Except the Target, which is five or six miles away, the other stores are all within a square mile of each other.) The giant Ikea, which was practically empty. We had a very nice lunch there, decided that a bed from Ikea is not worth the trouble, looked at sheets -- I was starting to think that the full-size bed makes more sense -- and desks. Bought not a single thing, but had a nice lunch. Done with Ikea.

Starbucks, picked up a gift card to give the guy who cuts my hair for Christmas. Took the fifteen minute ride over to where he is, got my hair cut. Cross off Starbucks and haircut.

Lord and Taylor's was jammed, couldn't return the bug pin today. By this time the highway was pretty busy, so I passed on Staples, too. Finally came home, K set up her computer. R came home by five, and pointed out that since her sister has returned from abroad, we have not yet had a traditional Three-of-Us Feast at the Red Lobster. The Lobster is on the SAME stretch of one-mile of Route 17 where K and I had already been at least six times today. And yet we went again. To pay me back, I forced the two of them to go to Shop Rite with me after dinner, the place they loathe more than any on earth. (Not supermarkets in general; they love that. Just Shop Rite.) I ended the day with an excellent sale on Pepsi 12-packs, five for $10.00. Ooooooh.

I'm home. I threw out the list. (Don't worry, I already made a new one for tomorrow.) I'm tired now. Bleeding money all day will do that to you.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching VH1
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here