the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

2005 627

01.01.2005

5:30 pm

I like numbers that end in 5. I don't know why, but I always have.

I got this from cosmicrayola.


1. What did you do in 2004 that you'd never done before?

I went on a diet and lost weight. On purpose.

2. Did you keep your new years' resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I don't make resolutions, as such, and certainly not on a specific, society-directed date. I did set out to do several things last year that I did indeed do.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Many people I know from work, but no one especially close to me.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

No, not this year.

5. What countries did you visit?

I went to England and Wales in March.

6. What would you like to have in 2005 that you lacked in 2004?

Have, as opposed to do. Aside from trinkets and gadgets from time to time, I'm settled for "have".

7. What date from 2004 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

A day, if not the calendar date. The election, I think.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

I lost 20 pounds. I also completed, if that's the right word, therapy.

9. What was your biggest failure?

I had a good year.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Not particularly. I had the normal amount of sinus infections, back spasms, and diverticulitis attacks, but nothing that was serious. I don't think I visited the emergency room at all, personally.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

Furniture and rugs for the living room.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

Both of my kids.

13. Who's behavior made you appalled and depressed?

I am still appalled at the so-called "religious right" and their attempts to hijack the rights of everyone who isn't them. I have no problem with their opinions and life-choices, I just don't want them imposed on anyone else.

14. Where did most of your money go?

No question here: college tuition and associated living expenses for my kids.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

I really enjoyed watching the Democratic Convention. I also was really excited to see the Globe Theatre in London, which I've wanted to see ever since they began rebuilding/restoring it.

16. What song will always remind you of 2004?

I don't have one for this year.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you: Happier or sadder?

Although the last couple of weeks have been stressful, so far I'm finding that the older I get, the happier I am.

ii. thinner or fatter?

20 pounds thinner! Okay, I've gained back a few, but not much. So maybe I'm down by about 17 pounds.


iii. richer or poorer?

Roughly the same. My salary goes up, but so does tuition.

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?

I should have kept up with the exercise better, walked more.

19. What do you wish you'd done less of?

Junk eating.

20. How will you be spending Christmas?

Every Christmas since 1975 has been spent with my in-laws at their home, except for the blizzard year (2002) and the year I was recuperating from the brain surgery (1991). I have no expectation that next year will be any different.

22. Did you fall in love in 2004?

Not again.

23. How many one-night stands?

Oh, please. Never would happen.

24. What was your favorite TV program?

Ah. This year I discovered Gilmore Girls and Lost.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?

"Hate" is an emotion reserved for Hitler and the tower bombers. Even people I have serious problems with -- like my Psycho boss -- I still have a certain amount of sympathy and understanding for. I don't hate her, but I would sure hate to be her.

26. What was the best book you read?

I had a very good year for reading; I read and listened to a lot that I liked. But the book that had the greatest impact on me was Philip Roth's The Plot Against America.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?

Nothing big this year.

28. What did you want and get?

I wanted both of my kids to come back safe from Europe.

30. What was your favorite film of this year?

Oh, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. You knew that.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I turned 51 and did nothing special.(Exactly the words of cosmicrayola!)

32.What's one thing that would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

I can't think of anything.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2003?

I went up a size in jeans in January and then went down three sizes from there by June.

34. What kept you sane?

Writing.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

I never stray very far from Patrick Stewart, but I'm also fond of the Luke character on Gilmore Girls. Liam Neeson is also quite pleasant.

36. What political issue stirred you the most?

Everything about the election, really. My biggest concern was the erosion of personal rights that I still see coming.

37. Who did you miss?

My parents.

38. Who was the best new person you met?

I met a lot of my kids' friends, which was nice, and we have about 20 new people on staff at school, many of whom I'm finding good additions there, but no one stands out as special.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2004:

Life is a continuously learned lesson. Each day brings something else that you need to know and that shapes who you are.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:

I'm not thinking musically today, I guess.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Roseanne
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here