the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Was I On Vacation? 628

01.02.2005

5:52 pm

I just had a week off of work, but I think it would have been more relaxing if I had just been there. And the rest of this week promises more of the same, but then, perhaps, a breather.

Both of the girls did go out on New Year's Eve, so it was quiet then. But at the moment, my little living room is full of Christmas tree and K's stuff for school, and there's no place else for it to go til next Sunday. I don't have room to pack up the Christmas stuff until the rest of it is gone, and that's going on Saturday. Unfortunately ...

Three of R's friends from Wales are in the States and will be visiting this week. She's going in to see them in the city, probably Monday and Tuesday, and on Wednesday, perhaps, they're coming out here to visit her home and have some genuine New Jersey pizza. So the plan is ...

I have to take Wednesday morning off of work to get K to the train, and then be back in time for a 1:00 meeting, followed by a class. (I'll have to reschedule a morning class to Tuesday or Thursday, first thing Monday morning.) At least once she's on the train, I'll have free and unlimited access to my own car. And then rush home after school and tidy up as best I can, including making the tree look nice, kind of like a last hurrah. I mean, as long as it's still standing there, it should look nice for company.

On Saturday, it's southward bound -- again -- for DC, with another carload of stuff. But next Sunday -- ahh. Room to put the ornaments away, even vacuum the living room. Who would have thought that I'd be looking forward to vacuuming?

Here's the both-girls-at-home issue, distilled: the more people you've got in your house, the more personalities you have to deal with, and the more stressful it gets. That's it. I don't know how people who have many children can cope with it; not just the laundry and the carpooling, but the constant battering of multiple personalities -- so to speak -- against your own. When both of mine are away, it is, in fact, quiet, but it's not the noise level. It's the personality level. So taking one out of the mix on Wednesday should calm the waters a bit.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Roseanne
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here