the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Go Five! Go Five! Go Five! 633

01.08.2005

6:25 pm

Friday Five, please.
  1. What is the first book you remember reading? ... Little Golden Books by the stack. The first book I ever took out of the library was The Five Chinese Brothers.
  2. What is your favorite book?... Impossible to pick just one.
  3. Who is your favorite author?... Shakespeare.
  4. Pick up the nearest book (magazine or any available printed material will do). Turn to page 24 (or the closest to it). Go to the 7th line. What is it? ... "God's family. In truth a transfiguration would take place."
  5. If you could be any character in literature, who would you be?... Jo March. Or else Jerusha Abbott.




We left the house this morning just before six, stopped for bagels (for K) and coffee (for us in the car) and headed south. The Hubs drove all the way down there; it was raining the whole way, sometimes heavily. It stopped just about the time we got to the kid's apartment building, about 10:45.

We made very good time.

We unloaded all the stuff, went upstairs, saw her new bed, which was delivered yesterday, and her Office Depot desk, which she assembled herself. (She's never assembled anything before, to my knowledge. So go K, too.) It was too early for lunch, so, just before noon, we headed north. Got home about 4:15.

We made very very good time.

But it was a lot of time in the car. (He started the drive and then I took over halfway through Maryland.) I was all set to listen to Goblet of Fire on the mp3 player, but the Hubs suggested that we could listen to some of the CDs I gave him for Christmas: a live performance of Jean Shepherd, he of Christmas Story fame (but these weren't Christmas stories, just early 60s stand-up), and George Carlin's new audiobook, When Will Jesus Bring the Pork Chops? Oy. The Jean Shepherd was hard to hear, and George Carlin ... well. Who knew how hard to take he is in such a big dose? We listened to him for maybe six hours altogther, and it wasn't until we were a few blocks from home that I was so way over my limit that I turned it off. It's one thing to be daring and avant-garde, but it's another to be a seven-year-old boy with grown-up words. I think it'll be a long time before I could sit down and watch or listen to him again.

I have so much to do tomorrow! I have a long list on a post-it, on my desk right next to my computer, but I can't see it at the moment because Boo The Very Hairy White Cat is sitting on it. He is a giant puff ball. Well, I know I have bills and laundry and the supermarket and the Christmas tree and recycling and dropping off tsunami donations at the fire house. And Best Buy with R, and where there's a Best Buy, can there be a Target far behind?

You know, I don't know if I've ever mentioned this -- I must have -- but the county I live in, right outside of New York, is the mall capital of the universe, or was until that Mall of America thing, but we have Blue Laws and only supermarkets and drug stores are allowed to be open on Sunday. (And restaurants and gas stations, but they're not strictly stores.) So when we shop on Sunday, we have to move west -- to Passaic County -- or up on the thruway into New York state (but we don't do that often; they pay tax on clothes, which we don't in New Jersey.) So Sunday shopping is a bit of an adventure, and not at our regular stores. Blue Laws anywhere else, anyone?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching news
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here