the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Ever So Brief 635

01.10.2005

5:04 pm

I am, as I sit and type, all dressed up with someplace to go. Tonight the Hubs and I are stepping out (insane heh heh heh) and going to a very fancy shmancy dinner that a friend/former boss of his throws every year. The Hubs will be shmoozing with all sorts of business people that he knows since forever, and I will smile at the two people I recognize but will not hear a word that anyone says all night. *sigh*. But the food is absolutely incredible, perhaps the best I've ever had -- I went two years ago, last year I was sick -- and it's over by 9:00. I've even packed a dainty and cute little black bag for the occasion (and I've even packed the ipod in it, so if I feel noise-overwhelmed AND anti-social, I can sneak off to a corner and listen to Harry Potter.)

In other news, R does indeed have shingles. The doctor made a real diagnosis just today, but said it looks like it's already clearing up, and the rash is confined to a small area. Shingles totally sucks; I had it too when I was about her age. The poor kid is not having a comfortable physical transition into adult-ness, she had one ailment after another.

Okay, I'm off to consume mass quantities --

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Gilmore Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here