the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Countdown: 1 636

01.11.2005

5:19 pm

The dinner last night was no big deal; I didn't overeat and the food I had was good, the people who invited us are just about the nicest anywhere, and we were home by 7:30. All good.

My poor shingled child is sidelined for at least a week, can't go to work, but just goes from doctor to doctor, blood tests, ultrasounds, etc. She's getting MRI'd for her shoulder on Friday, too. Nebbuch. (Poor thing.)

So I went to the Post Office this morning and they have a machine in the lobby, so you can use it before the actual Post Office is open, that you can use to mail packages all by yourself. IT WAS THE BEST! What an excellent device! This is what I mailed off to K today:


  • A Costco size package of bathroom paper cups. When I was there on Saturday, I noticed a glass -- a glass! -- in the bathroom cup holder. Now I know that until K arrived, this bathroom was used by only one person so I guess it was hers, but come on! Germs aside, a glass in the bathroom is dangerous.

  • One of those dispenser containers of Clorox wipes. Because, as I say, I've seen the bathroom.

  • A CVS disposable digital camera, because K left her camera home and I'm not shipping off a real digital camera through the mail.

  • A coupon for Pier One because there's one near her and she might need something.


One of more odd family customs is based on something my father always told us; he read it somewhere or made it up, I don't know which. At noon on the day before your birthday, you're legally the age you're going to turn at midnight. He always said it had something to do with signing legal papers, so if you were coming into an inheritance or something you could sign the papers as of noon the day before and then start spending at midnight. Or so he claimed. Anyway, we all believe that at noon on the day before your birthday you really are the age you're going to be. Since it's almost 5:30 in the afternoon, that makes me officially 52 right now.

All I need now is the inheritance.

C'mon.

Where are you?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Gilmore Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here