the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Bellyaching 639

01.14.2005

7:07 pm

I think I'm on the verge of a diverticulitis attack; why do they always happen on weekends? I swear, this time I AM NOT going to the emergency room. I'd rather live on advil til Monday and then call the doctor. (Last time I called him on a Saturday and he said since he was in the hospital already, I should just come in to the ER. But I was there for hours before I saw him, having 19 nervous breakdowns, and I am never doing that again.)

I am looking forward to a very quiet weekend, belly pain aside. A few quick errands in the morning tomorrow and then I'd like to read or watch movies for two days. And possibly crochet. I am not a power crocheter by any means; I do a nice steady single crochet, row after row, but there's a limit to the number of scarves and sack-like purses you can make. If I can figure out the directions, I'm going to try to make granny squares. And that's it.

My poor kid is still under the weather, but is going to attempt to make it into work tomorrow. In the meantime, she's knitting all kinds of great looking stuff, which is inspiring me to crochet. I am incapable of knitting, having been taught three or four times in my life; I never retain it. I can do all kinds of other crafts, but I've never mastered knitting or crewel. My favorite for relaxation was always rug-hooking because it requires no thought whatsoever, and my favorite for challenge/craft/etc. is counted cross-stitch, although after awhile I found that I was enjoying designing the pattern more than actually stitching it.

Okay, that's a tangent. I'm going to go relax my sore parts. Good weekend, all.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Daily Show
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here