the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

A Mini-Rant and an Update 640

01.15.2005

8:31 pm

The guy who's accused as the ringleader in the Abu Graib scandal is using as his defense:

"I was only following orders."

WHO THE HELL IS THIS GUY'S LAWYER?

How much history does any lawyer really need to know in order to know that this is the defense the Nazis tried to use at the Nuremburg trials and WE DIDN'T LET THEM GET AWAY WITH IT. This is not a reasonable defense, folks. No human being is supposed to do something he knows to be morally wrong, even in the military.

Oh wait. The point, I guess, is that this guy and those other folk with him did not know the difference between right and morally wrong. I wonder how they're going to cover that one.



So I did have a pleasant day today, getting errands done in the morning and watching a movie and half in the afternoon, and getting other things done in between, like paying bills. This made me laugh: I was at the vet's, getting Q's claws clipped, and I was chatting with a woman with an unusual looking-dog, looked like a Corgi/Pomeranian mix with a coat just like a light-colored Golden Retriever. Cute, but definitely not a macho dog. So they called her to come in to see the doctor and of course, they called the dog's name: "Santino?" And the woman stood up and said to the dog, "Come on, Sonny."

Hah! It's from The Godfather! How funny is that?

The movie I watched -- with Cary Grant, of course -- was Penny Serenade. I'd heard of it before and picked it up on DVD for a couple of bucks, but I'd never watched it before. According to everything I've read, it was a tear-jerker. And let me say, oy vey, was it. It was very interesting, and I also like Irene Dunne, but what a weeper. If you're interested, be forewarned, because the weepiness involves children -- it says that on every blurb and on the box, so it isn't exactly a spoiler, and anyway the movie was made in the thirties, so the secret would be out by now anyway -- and it certainly wasn't graphic or anything but it's still a heart-tugging sort of flick. Then I tried Night and Day, which I had seen before but over thirty years ago, and it was such bullshit, mostly about Cole Porter's wonderful marriage ** ahem ** and how he could write songs with absurdly simple motivation, that I couldn't even watch my beloved Cary in the part. The music is nice, though.

Yes. I just reviewed two movies made over 60 years ago. I am that contemporary.

I'm off to fold my laundry. Ooh, and I'm going to listen to more Goblet of Fire whilst I fold. I had it playing off the computer before movie time, while I was doing all sorts of other things in the room, and it was great fun.

P.S. My bellyache is better today, and I've been eating very carefully. Perhaps I dodged that bullet after all.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching nothing
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here