the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Just Sitting Here 647

01.22.2005

1:59 pm

I'm done ranting and storytelling for the moment. Thank you for your patience.

Like everyone else in the northeast, I'm slowly becoming snowbound, which is way better for me today than Monday because I have a lot of things to do on Monday and I've already taken the day off of work. My only real concern today was for R coming and going to work -- she was scheduled for 4 PM to closing -- but they called her and told her not to come in, so I'm as relaxed as relaxed can be. I went out and did all my little chores this morning, and now I'm in.

I even got something done in the house that didn't involve computers! Amazing! One of the service clubs at school is holding a coat/blanket drive, and I just filled two cartons with blankets and a big bag with coats. I've actually been holding onto the coats for a while, not wanting to just dump them in a clothing bin; I was waiting for an actual coat drive someplace and this is it. And I've even managed to get rid of the blankets that the MIL sent along when she gave us her two sofabed/loveseats last year, even though I told her I didn't need them and that I didn't have room for them. But she sent them on the furniture truck anyway, so I couldn't even just say no. Anyway, they're packed up and when I go into school on Tuesday I'll cart it all in.

The first movie I had to watch for my film class was "Nicholas Nickleby" which honestly, IS NOT A CHILDREN'S MOVIE so I have no idea why, and for another thing, all those Dickens movies look exactly alike. Am I right? I got through about 45 minutes, which I think is all I owe it because our first assignment was to watch it, and read an article about it, and then do a written assignment on an entirely different thing. No reference to the movie or the article for the rest of the course, according to the syllabus. This does not forbode well, I think.

This is very fast falling snow; the sidewalks were covered in about ten minutes, maybe less. But we're all home and no one has to go anyplace now, so where's the harm. As long as the Hubs doesn't kill himself later on shoveling, we're all set.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching I Love the 90s
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here