the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

BOI - OI - OI - OI - OING!!! 648

01.24.2005

7:33 pm

Okay, so I'm not quite the Six Million Dollar Man -- not yet. At the moment I feel a little more like Pinocchio, since my strings are gone. I'm still working on being a technological wonder.

My hearing aids are wireless. This works via FM, and I'd forgotten that in my last go-round with FM (which they only now started making again), I could hear computer monitors and store alarms. Hmm. When I get close to a monitor (not an LCD, though), especially an older one, I hear a loud, high whine. When I walk in or out of a store and through those alarm gates, I hear the same thing. But it's very nice not having that wire behind my head getting caught on things.

I haven't done many tricks with the other part of it yet, but I did this: I left the remote/speaker thingy by the TV and then I walked around the house. Wherever I went, I could hear the TV sound in my hearing aid. I realize that this is hardly a big deal, but I was just testing the range and such.

So far, the really big thing is getting used to the different quality of sound. It's kind of like when you get a new glasses prescription and it takes a few days to get adjusted. Everything is just a little louder, a little sharper. The best way to describe it is that it's a "cleaner" sound, although I'm not quite sure what I mean by that. I also need to adjust to the different background sounds this picks up because of the FM, not just the monitor whine, but other little things.

I'm very curious to see how this whole thing will work at school tomorrow. GSA meets every week in a classroom in the oldest part of the building; the acoustics in the room are just dreadful, and I generally miss half -- or more -- of what everyone's saying. I'm thinking now that I can leave the remote on the table in the middle of where everyone is sitting and then I'll hear them. That would be so incredibly cool! I'll just need to put a little post-it on it that says "Don't touch Mrs. C.'s ears!" That's not till Thursday, though, but I have three classes tomorrow, and that should give it a test.

And I had a physical today, too. All is well, except he thinks I should stop taking estrogen. I'm still undecided about whether this is good, sound medical advice or it's just that he's a man and has no idea. I'll see the obgyn next month and find out what she has to say about it. But I think my hormone enhanced days may be drawing to an end. Watch me rampage! Hey, at least I'll be able to hear what I'm saying.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Seinfeld
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here