the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Deeply Sighing. Tired. Hungry. 662

02.05.2005

4:07 pm

(My real entry for today is here. This is just fluff.)

Is it not a pain to revise your template? What makes us .. okay, me ... do this, anyway? Was I getting complaints? No, of course, it was that I wanted to put in the buzznet link, which, by the way, you can now follow to see the actual ... buzznet thingy; what are they called, anyway? Blogs made up of mobile phone pictures?

My only concern is that the color of the font isn't dark enough for people to read, so if that's the case, let me know, and really, I have no idea what I'll do. You can't imagine how hard it is to find the hexademical code for the color of my tattoos.

Apparently there is no such word as solipsis, although I saw it someplace used that way. The word is solipsism, or solipsist, or solipsistic. It's starting to sound like pretty funny, huh? It means

1. The theory that the self is the only thing that can be known and verified.
2. The theory or view that the self is the only reality

or presumably, one who lives according to this philosophy.

I knew it was pretentious. I mean, how often could this actually come up in conversation? I know that two of the times I saw it were in a lecture posted online by the professor of the course I'm taking. He used it twice in one lecture. So now we can all get a good sense of him. Then I was totally amazed to see it someplace else, I think in a magazine or newspaper article. I ask, what is the point of using words that you know relatively few people will understand at all? To show that you're smarter than they are? (That's why the SCM does it, I'm pretty sure. Sometimes I just want to smack him in the head.)

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Listening to "Here Comes the Sun"
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here