the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Bemused. No, Bewildered. 661

02.05.2005

12:29 pm

Or neither one. Sometimes by the time I've typed the title, I've forgotten why I wanted to use it.

I am musing on the odd juxtaposition of my newest passion -- drinking coffee almost continuously all morning, and into the afternoon, if I can get it -- with my constant annoyance at having to stop what I'm doing and run to the bathroom. They just don't fit together. Maybe when I was 20, but then I just had a cup of coffee in the morning and went about my business. I may have had 5 cups so far today (it's noon), but some of them were itty bitty 5 ounce cups. Excuse me for a moment.

.
.
.
.

Okay, I'm back. I have indeed done some of my cleaning already today, and I would vacuum the living room now, but the cats have found sunny spots on the floor in there and I hate to disturb them. Yes, that is the reason I'm not doing it yet. Really.

I'm working on a new template, which is really done in terms of layout, since I stole it from the site I'm working on for just family (i.e., with some of the stuff that you read taken out) and I thought you should know that I was seriously contemplating making it not purple. Really. The other site is navy and gray, which are the colors of the outside of my house and now the stuff in the living room, and I do like those colors, but when push came to shove I felt the need to remain purple here. So it will be. I just have to work on the links and stuff, so maybe it will be up tomorrow. It's very simple, just blocks of color. Oh, you'll see.

My favorite oldies station, WCBS-FM, 101.1 in New York City, is having an all Beatles weekend. I am in heaven. I haven't turned on the TV at all today, I'm just listening to one song after another, and they're playing a lot, not too many commercials. It's so wonderful. The morning guy was having people call in to win the new set of the first four albums on CD, but I was out in the car then so I couldn't call, but now I'm waiting for someone else to offer it, because I'll be on it in a flash.

Yesterday in my world, I encountered the word solipsis three times. I swear I have never heard that word before in my whole life and I have no idea what it means. I forgot to look it up when I was standing next to the dictionary in the library -- duh -- so I must google it or something because it's a weird and pretentious looking word, isn't it? Must find out what it means. I'll let you know.

The Buzznet site was making me a little nuts yesterday, so I finally sent off a question and I got a real answer from them in like 15 minutes. I could not believe it. So I think I'll be using Buzznet instead of the Textamerica, although you may not be able to see the Buzznet pictures for a few days unless you're also registered there, but then it should be fine. (That's the question I asked them.) And of course, you won't even see the thumbnails until I put up the new template, so why am I even writing this now?

Excuse me for a moment.

.
.
.
.
.
I'm back. I passed by the living room, and Boo is all curled up inside out on a chair right in front of the window. Awww. So maybe I'll do the kitchen floor instead, and sweep in the living room; I can vacuum there later. And then I can work on my template so you can experience the disorienting joy that a new template brings.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching the radio!
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here