the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

It's Late, And I'm a Little Loopy. 665

02.08.2005

10:52 pm

Let me share with you my evening routine. I watch a lot of television, but you knew that. If it's a good night, there's a new Gilmore Girls or Lost. By 9:00, I am usually very sleepy and I must go to bed. Because I take a half an ambien, I try not to take it too early, or I'll wake up too early in the morning. Even so. I take the pill and I'm usually asleep by 9:30 or 10:00.

I wake up anywhere between 11:00 and 1:00. I'm fully awake, but I wouldn't, let's say, operate farm equipment. I stop at the bathroom on my way to the kitchen, were I MUST EAT SOMETHING. It matters very little what it is, and if I've had the sense to think about it before, I'll remind myself what it is I should eat, so I don't just eat a cake or something. I am, by this time, loopy, high, buzzed. It's a nice relaxed feeling, although all in all, I'd rather be asleep.

I might have my little snack and go right back to bed, and sleep. More than likely, I'll be up and wide awake for an hour and then sleep in naps and fits and starts until the alarm goes off between 5:30 and 6:00. Don't care for that.

You know, I'm opposed to traditional sleeping pills; they were one of the prescription drugs Shirl was addicted to. They tell me that Ambien is different. But I take a half when I go to sleep at 9:00, and I do sleep. Last night I realized that I can just take the other half around midnight, if I'm up then, and then I'm good til the alarm. I do know that it really worked last night. I am encouraged.

Am I making any sense? Because one of the weird things I do in the time between sleeping/getting up/snacking and then going back to sleep is weird things. I'm not asleep, because I remember it all clearly in the morning. In fact, my memories of what I did are probably clearer to me than when I was doing them. Like now. I took the pill almost an hour ago, but I'm still up and I'm damn loopy.

One night last week I decided to change the topic for my final project for this film course. I researched the availability of the films, wrote up a brief proposal, and searched through my DVDs for the episodes I knew I had. In the morning, I looked over three of the discs, and although I got one right, the other two just weren't even in the ballpark of what I was looking for, and that I thought I'd found.

Here's what I did last night. Generally, I keep my d-land buddy list short; for some reason, when I go to the buddy list page to see who's updated, I like to see the whole list on the screen at once. (Also, I don't want to put people on my list and then not have enough time to read them all because it seems rude.) Anyway, when I got up this morning, I couldn't help but notice that I had added about a dozen diaries to the buddy list sometime last night. I had a printout of people whose buddy lists I'm on, because that seemed like a good place to start. So it's all checked off and marked and stuff. I'm even an OCD freak in my semi-sleep.

I also found a post-it on my desk that said "Lollipops." Yesterday afternoon, the Sibs asked me to help her track down sugar-free lollipops and I had forgotten to do it last night, but I remembered in my sleep and left myself a note so I would do it today. (Which I did.)

Am I even asleep when I do this stuff? I know I'm not asleep now -- I'm touch typing, for gosh sakes, although in truth, I do that in dreams sometimes -- but I'm writing and thinking and stuff. I believe I'm even making sense, maybe, sorta. I am writing sentences, right?

Time to go to real sleep, real bed sleep. Have real dreams. I have a new celebrity crush, but it's not on the actor, it's on the part he plays. So maybe if I go to sleep now I'll have nice Luke Danes dreams. Excellent Gilmore tonight, folks!

I wrote an entry earlier about the library and not having to vacate it this May. If you missed that and you were me ... if you were I ... if I were you, that's the one, I'd click that little link down there that says Last and that's where you'll find it, because I can most definitely not create an actual link right now. BTW, I don't drink actual alcohol, almost never; I believe I've been truly drunk no more than three times in my life. I am, as you might guess, a very silly drunk.

I'm going to try to re-read this now before I post it. HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching I do not know.
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here