the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

I Feel the Approach of Illness 669

02.12.2005

3:54 pm

:(

My throat is all scratchy and I'm whining like a six year old. Even so, I'm in denial and went out erranding with R before, here, there, and everywhere. We went to Crate and Barrel; I'd never been there before even though there's been one close by for over a year. It was such a nice store! So many pretty things!

Seriously, I do not think I would survive today as an undergraduate. I'm taking one lousy course and I simply cannot rest until everything on the syllabus is done. I've read everything, watched everything, I've got one more article summary to type up and then all I have left is the final project and the weekly discussions, most of which I've already written. What is wrong with me? This is, after all, a semester long course; even if I wanted to be a week ahead, that would be obsessive, a little, but within the range of normal. With a full class load, I'd burn out in a couple of days. And no, I was most definitely not like this during my real college career. My first semester I made a point of attending no more than two classes a week, I dropped one, I failed gym (I stopped going when it got cold; it was an 8 am class) and I failed health (because I went to Florida instead of taking the final exam.) Yes, I got better, I believe I graduated with some sort of lesser honors, but even so, I was not so insane as to do a semester's work in the first three weeks.


Friday Five!
1) Would you rather live in a world with or without technology such as computers, cars, airplanes, bombs?
Well, no bombs, please, but I'll keep the rest of it.

2) If you had to live without either heating in your house or air conditioning, which one would you keep?
I love the air conditioning come summer, but unless I moved to Florida, there's no chance of surviving here without heat. And I do so hate to be cold. They should call me Sam McGee.

3) If you had to own five dogs, what kind would you get?
I love dogs, but I've never had one, and I think about this all the time! There are several breeds I adore, but would never get, like a Brittany Spaniel, because I wouldn't be able to provide it with the exercise and activities it needs. And those Border Collies and Shelties are beautiful, too. I like Wheatens, and I love those little Jack Russells, especially the long haired ones, but they say they're hyper even among terriers. Bulldogs are adorable, and the first dog I knew and loved was a Boxer. I wouldn't be surprised, however, to find myself one day with a Pug. Really, though, a mixed-breed from the pound would be fine, except I wouldn't want a dog to grow too big or need too much exercise (because I'm basically sendentary), and you can't really know that about a dog unless you know its breed.

4) If the world had a front porch, what would you do on it?
I would sit on it on a summer afternoon with a good long book -- maybe Gone With the Wind -- and watch thunderstorms in the distance.

5) Would you rather live in a neighborhood where you know all of your neighbors by name, or where everyone sticks to their own business?
Having grown up in the former and lived in the latter for most of my adult life, I can say that I would definitely prefer the former. Does that even still happen anywhere?

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Edward Scissorhands
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here