the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

I Forgot What I Wanted to Say 668

02.11.2005

4:59 pm

I've got two pictures from the Coffee House up on Buzznet, which you can get to from the links at the bottom of the page or here, 2/11/05. (That's for posterity.) The camera phone does a very nice job with available light. The really bright light shining behind the girl singing, by the way, is on my desk in the library. I'll probably post lots more library pictures over the next year as we get ready to say goodbye to the old girl for good.

Speaking of which, I didn't spend the day in the library today, as I felt all pukey and headachy this morning so I stayed home. I decided not to make it a task day, and although I did a couple of minor things, I mostly took it easy, took a couple of naps. I made one trip out, to the A&P, and I probably shouldn't have done that, since I didn't feel all that good while I was out. I don't feel quite as icky now, but I don't feel what you would call good.

So I've had all this time and my mind clear and I had all kinds of stuff to write here, but now I've lost it. But writing about writing reminds me of something else, so I'll tell you that.

The Coffee House, of course, is a project of GSA, the Gay Straight Alliance. My co-advisor there, whose idea it was to start the club, describes himself as the world's most closeted out gay man. He is very reserved by nature, and doesn't discuss any personal aspects of gayness with his students, because why would any teacher discuss their personal lives to that degree with their students? Despite his being reserved -- he would describe himself as boring -- he is really very very funny, has a dry sense of humor, a beautiful speaking voice, and is also quite good-looking. The kids seem to love him, and were encouraging him last night to "tell a story." I didn't get that, but he apparently tells weird made-up stories in class to illustrate various points, and they love it.

Anyway, his partner of ten years came to the Coffee House last night. I had met him once before, but not under relaxed circumstances, so I never really got to talk to him, which I did last night. He was adorable, one of those people you have an instant rapport with, a very average guy who also happens to be a writer. He's been working at this for many years, but was only recently published for the first time, so I congratulated him on that and we talked about writing. I told him about how keeping a web diary and writing every day has been such an incredibly good thing for me, and I don't generally talk about this much, except to the close few who know I do it. What a nice guy he was, and it was also very sweet to watch him watching his partner being loved by the kids. The world of school is usually so separate for teachers from the world of their real lives and families; it's always an odd thing when a spouse gets a chance to see you at work. I know it always was for me when the Hubs would come to the Junior Prom when I was running that activity.

Okay, I'm going to take my headache over to the couch and veg out with the 5:00 Gilmore.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching waiting for Gilmore
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here