the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Yeah, Happy Monday 671

02.14.2005

8:07 pm

So I wasn't in school last Friday, I was in today, and I'm out again tomorrow. Every Monday should be bracketed thus, except there was a dreaded Academic Council meeting today, so that sucked. It reminded me of the slogan that should absolutely be on our school stationery: "Beating dead horses since 1943." They're using the library for staff training tomorrow, so it's a good day for me not to be there; I made doctor's appointments.

I spent many happy hours yesterday reading Harry Potter fanfic. What can I say, I'm twelve years old. In fact, the site I was reading from yesterday was a fanfic site for "younger fans", so the target age really is about twelve. But they were nicely written, pleasant little stories; the only difference between them and a lot of the others was the absence of sex, which has no place in Harry Potter stories as far as I'm concerned anyway, so they were fine. Light reading, diversion.

What I was supposed to do yesterday, actually, was go to the movies, which I rarely do, but R and I were going to go to my annual birthday movie. I just didn't feel up to getting dressed and going out anywhere. We were supposed to go see The Merchant of Venice, which is certainly a far cry from pre-adolescent Harry Potter fanfic. The film has gotten really good reviews; someone at school saw it and liked it a lot, too, and it's only now starting to play outside of New York and L.A. It's at one theatre out here; I hope it's still there in a couple of weeks. K is coming home this weekend, and has plans for Saturday afternoon, and Sunday I'll be taking her to the train to go back, so no movie this weekend.

Going back to the oddly mundane, she was due for a visit home but picked this weekend because there's a new episode of Degrassi on Friday night, and this is a serious bonding issue for my daughters. And yes, they've hooked me as well on this teen soap from Canada. I think they're having a Degrassi party and a couple of their friends will be here as well, and I'm in on it, too. Sometimes they're still such cute little girls. This whole having grown children thing is so amusing.

I find Valentine's Day to be pretty much a non-holiday, although the Hubs gave me a plant and a DVD; I gave him a DVD, too. Everybody in school was wearing red, girls were getting flower deliveries, and some club sold carnations so random kids were walking around looking delighted, carrying flowers, while others just looked like lonely and miserable, or clueless. This kind of holiday just seems to remind people who are the haves and who are the have-nots, so to speak, and I'm not a fan of that kind of thing.

Okay, I'm off.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching ?
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here