the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Hurrying Up and Waiting 680

02.24.2005

5:28 pm

I hate it when I've got things to do but I can't because I'm waiting for someone else to something first.

My task at hand is emptying -- EMPTYING! -- the kitchen so they can put in the floor tomorrow. But the gas company has to come and disconnect the stove, so there are things I can't quite move yet. And since the Hubs has canceled his class tonight due to impending weather, I might as well leave the microwave where it is so he can heat up his dinner when he gets here at the regular time.

Bleh.

I had a relatively painless visit to the accountant this morning, although I swear he had no more idea of what to do with R's foreign-earned income than I would have. But he claimed to, so that's done, too. I came home, packed up some food and stuff and stacked it in the living room (because it's got to go somewhere) and went and had a most lovely facial and a very functional haircut. I came home and moved some other stuff, and I'm trying to figure out where to put the coffee maker so that I can actually make a cup of coffee in the morning. Haven't figured that one out yet. This is all so weird.

When is the gas company guy coming? R said "sometime between 8 a.m. and death", which (she also says) is from The Cable Guy. In fact, he is coming between 3:30 pm and whenever he's done. Which could be at midnight. This is actually what they told me on the phone. My guess is, midnight tonight, 3:00 tomorrow to reconnect, but they won't be done with the floor yet. Such is my mazel (luck). All of this disruption is giving me hives. Or, more precisely, it is aggravating me.

I have probably told this story before, but that makes it no less true. When I was a wee one and I was tormenting my mother, she would say in one exasperated breath: "Fadrai dein agenah kop! Don't aggravate me!" Now, the first part of that you will recognize as not-English; it's Yiddish loosely translated as "Leave me alone!" but precisely translated as "Go bother your own head!" The thing is, I knew it was Yiddish, but until I was about 6, I thought the whole expression was. I was very surprised to learn that "aggravate" was, in fact, an English word.

If only the gas company had its own head which it could go bother. Or they could show up. Either one.

Change of subject.

I joined the Blohkbuster mail/online video thing, mostly to get the obscure movies I needed to see for this class I'm taking, and although that never quite worked out, I'm now hooked on playing with the queue list. I decided that I needed to watch 4400, since it looks good, and don't you know they just shipped Disc 2, but there's a "Short Wait" for Disc 1? Now, what am I going to do with that? I just hope they send Disc 1 before Bob and Carol and Ted and Alice, y'know? As it is, I got Sullivan's Travels because R wanted to see it and now I think it's taking up permanent residence on the coffee table.

Speaking of the online class, what a weird experience. Listen to this genius thing I did, or almost did. We have to submit entries to the class "discussion" to get the participation grade, which is the major part of the grade. I kept getting a grade of 3 on each one, and I would think "Crap! What am I supposed to do to get an A?" because really, I'm overdoing it to begin with, but I need an A in the class to get remimbursed for the tuition from my school district. I kept going over the criteria for the grade, and I was about to write an annoyed email to the professor saying "Crap! What am I supposed to do to get an A?" when I realized that the grade I got isn't a 3 out of a possible 4 (which is the way all college classes I've ever taken are graded), but 3 out of 3. You can get a max of 3 points for each discussion. Duh. Duh them and duh me. I am so too old to take classes anymore, even though I just finished five years ago. I wouldn't mind going to a lecture here or there, but a real college course with grades? Too stressful for me. No more. Remember that.

A very fine, light snow has started to fall. It isn't sticking yet, but it's falling. Since some of the Hubs' students travel up a couple of hours from south Jersey, and he has to ride down an hour just to get there himself, I guess he made a good call. If there's anything he hates, it's having to cancel class for snow (or anything else.)

Where oh where can I put my coffee maker? Why isn't the gas guy here? Why isn't that floor finished yet?

Oy. My kop.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Gilmore Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here