the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Let Me See Now ... 681

02.25.2005

7:58 pm

  1. Gas company never came last night. At 11:15 they lied and said I never had an appointment, although I'd been assured at 6:30 that I was still on the schedule.
  2. Slept like shit.
  3. Woke up at 6. Called the plumber at 7. Wonderful plumber arrived at 9 and disconnected gas stove.
  4. The power went off and on four times between 9 and 11. I missed the phone calls from the floor people telling me when they were coming.
  5. They came anyway, carpet for stairs at 11, kitchen floor at noon. They did very nice work and were gone by 3.
  6. The cats did not kill each other during their temporary banishment to BedroomLand, the only room in the house with a closing door other than the bathroom.
  7. The house was FREEZING while the men were working because they had to keep a door open to get to their supplies.
  8. The gas company did remember to come this afternoon to reconnect the stove. I told them to screw off. The plumber is coming back in the morning.
  9. The last piece of the kitchen puzzle -- an incredibly heavy but nice wooden cart with a stainless steel countertop -- arrived via UPS after 5. It has a zillion pieces to assemble. The base piece is broken. So now it's scattered all over my living room shedding styrofoam and their customer service doesn't open again until Monday.
  10. Had to put the crappy baker's rack back into the kitchen. I am sad.
  11. I am too tired to write in sentences and paragraphs.
  12. Sorry.
There a little picture of my floor on buzznet, here. I'm very annoyed that I couldn't get this whole room finished and reassembled today. Perhaps I will rant on that tomorrow. I'm going to go look for something else to eat that I shouldn't have. Macaroni and cheese is, unfortunately, out, due to the no-stove situation.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Degrassi!
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here