the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Now I'm in Hell 697

03.16.2005

7:19 pm

Cookbook hell. The deadline for submitting recipes to me was yesterday, so today, I was able to get all the photocopying and page-cutting done, and I even left room for a rogue extra one or two. I've gotten four since then, R is typing and sending me hers as we speak, and the Sibs reminded me just before that our Cousin for some unknown reason mailed hers there and not to me. Do these people not read directions? Come on. It's not brain surgery. (I have gotten some interesting ones, though, including one for Cowboy Cookies. Perhaps I'll post it in the future.)

I watched Babe today, which was somehow not what I expected. It was very sweet. I hadn't anticipated the whole fairy tale feel to the whole thing, which I liked. And I've always liked James Cromwell, or, as he's always been known in this house, Stretch Cunningham. The girls don't get this, of course, and want to know why we of all people don't refer to him as Zefram Cochrane. Because he's Stretch Cunningham, that's why!

Because I'm a big believer in the importance of instilling gratitude in one's children, I've been reminding R for the last couple of hours that 24 years ago right now I was nearing the end of my first full day of labor with her. Heh heh. Actually, my labor began about 2 a.m., so by now I was in about hour 17. Right about now we were on our way to see the doctor in his office for the second time of a total of three before heading to the hospital the next morning around 11:30. It's probably the only time in my life St. Patrick's Day slipped by without notice. Lest this inspire fear or trepidation in any younger readers, let me remind you that I went on to have another child three years later. It makes a great story, all of it true, but it's not a big deal. I mean it.

Okay, she just emailed her recipes over, so I'm off to add them in. Tomorrow.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Simpsons
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here