the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Now I'm One of Those People 698

03.17.2005

6:25 pm

I'm grilling tofu for dinner, so now I'm one of those damned dirty tofu-eating hippies. But I'm not a vegan! I swear! Although I am drinking soymilk these days ... No, I'm not, I'm not! I'll have ice cream later! I'm having a corned beef sandwich for dinner tomorrow (per R's belated birthday request.) *sigh*. This getting back onto a good food track can be very distressing.

I get just one of those holiday family newsletters every year, and this year I got it today. (It took her awhile.) This is only the second year I'm the mailing list, actually; although the writer/sender was my first and oldest friend (our mothers were best friends, our older siblings exactly the same age) we're not close, and for years she sent her tome to my mother. With my mother gone, she shifted over to me, which is just fine. I can't bear to read the whole conspicuously-consuming thing (Redecorating! Hawaii! Cars!) but she's good at heart and I like knowing that she's okay, along with her brother and mother. The only times we've actually spoken to each other since my wedding in 1977 is in recent years, after the deaths of her father and my parents. She was lovely and warm and genuine each time, but these newsletters are killers. Why -- how? -- do people write this stuff about themselves? When her kids were small, she would write about their obnoxious and rude ways with a kind of "Aren't they cute?" way, which was so bizarre to read because it didn't seem cute at all.

I've undertaken the long overdue project of revamping the fiction collection in the library, and it's put me back on a reading kick, which I like, I may have mentioned one recently, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night. I'm reading the YA stuff, mostly; I also liked very much Speak, by Laurie Anderson. Today someone told me I had to read Nothing But the Truth by Avi, whom I met a couple of years ago at a barbecue right after he'd won the Newbery Award (for another book) and I actually got to see the award, very cool. So I brought that home today. And I ordered the first two Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants books, which I'll put in the collection when I'm done reading them. All I need now is a free weekend, which I'm going to have ... in July, I think. But a good YA book, I can power through that fast. I also brought home The Good Earth, but I think I'll hold off on that one for awhile.

Ah, K left a phone message that she'd gone to the health center today and has a sinus infection. Perhaps I'd best give the child a call. Her sister's going out tonight to booze it up and party for her birthday (to the limits that we party) and the Hubs is teaching, so I'll be on my own. Hmm, perhaps I can start one of those books after all. Let's see ...

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Golden Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here