the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

How Was Your Day, Archie? 704

03.24.2005

8:00 pm

At least it stopped snowing sometime during the morning, leaving a nice thick layer of slush everywhere. I read an article the other day about how this is called "Mud Season" in New England, and I never heard that before despite my own New England roots, but it sure makes sense to me. It was all mud under the slush here today, too.

By the time R got home last night she was indeed in no mood to go out, so she made do with what food we had here. I picked u some veggies for her after work today, so she should be good to go when she gets home in a few hours. Both she and the Hubs should be home tonight by 10:00, which gives me all this luxurious alone time. Alone with ...

Yes, them again. Today's is Boo's birthday, btw; he's 14, which is pretty good for getting a terminal "few months" just over a year ago. And he wasn't the one bothering me before. I turned off the tv and put on all this good new agey music and I was like, all inner peace and shit, doing my stretches and what not when I sort of caught a glimpse behind my head -- I was lying on the floor -- of Q about to make the Big Jump up onto the bookcase, which would have crashed down and surely killed us both -- well, me, certainly -- and I was all "I'll kill you where you stand! I mean it! DON'T YOU DARE!" and that was pretty much it for the inner peace. But I did do all my stretches and then some ankle weights and I tried another yoga routine but still, I don't get it. I do all the deep breathing while I'm doing the other stuff, and I've got the right music on, so that's just going to have to do it for me. Tranquility-wise.

The SCM didn't come in today, which is very sucky when the Colleague is also out, since it cuts seriously into my going to the ladies room when I need to opportunities, and today I was going to be working in the back room all day but I couldn't because then there wouldn't have been anyone in the main room of the library with the kids. Not that he doesn't have the right to stay out when he wants or needs to. Of course he does. But he's such a whiny baby that it's hard to care about whether he's really sick or, more likely, wanted to get a jump on his drive to his vacation home for the long weekend. And it probably threw him all off that it was snowing this morning. It's like he's the only person the snow affects.

So I have no school tomorrow. I assume that all public schools everywhere are closed for Good Friday, but I could be wrong there. K's college, which I understand was originally founded by the Methodist church, gets none of these days off, which I find just nuts. It is not easy for kids at this school (and maybe many others, for all I know) to spend Easter with their families. She's coming home Saturday and going back Monday, but Monday classes aren't cancelled, she's just not going. I only went to public universities, as did R, and they close on all your basic religious holidays, even Yom Kippur and Rosh Hashonah. And the Hubs went to Georgetown, which certainly did not hold classes on Good Friday.

Did I mention that the Magic Hearing Aid company is in fact replacing the Magic Hearing Aid? I'm getting it on Monday. (Yes, I'm not going to work on Monday, hah hah, but the SCM has known about it for over a week and the Colleage will be back then. I'm all about the hypocrisy, I am.) We'll see how this goes; I still have my doubts. But it's certainly good of them to do the right thing.

I had amazing tacos for dinner, from a Tex-Mex place in an upscale town nearby that is famous for having a different remarkable trendy eatery every five feet. They don't deliver here, but they had "curbside" pickup, which means I double-parked and called them from the car on the cellphone (!) and they brought it out to me. How funny is that? Anyway, they were wild mushroom and roasted veggie tacos. Yum. And I saved on the calories by not eating the rice or the beans that come on the side. Just kidding; these things were probably a million calories. I never had such good taco shells.

I have sooo much to do tomorrow. And then I want to read the second Traveling Pants book.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Jake in Progress -- for the moment
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here