the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

What Didn't I Do Today? 705

03.25.2005

6:37 pm

I got shoes to wear to the wedding. I went back to my new obligatory half-hour-away place of the month, Edgewater, and ordered the balloons for the shower (which is also in Edgewater, so after next week, I'm done with it). I got catfood, and went to the supermarket, and got to listen to a whole lot more of Harry Potter by virtue of being in the car for an hour. Oh, and then there were the lottery tickets.

One of my tasks was to get about $10 worth of lottery tickets to give away as a prize for one of the shower games. But I figured I'd get some for myself, too, so I handed over a $20, got a Mega Millions and a Pick Six and then the rest in scratch-off cards. When I got home, I put aside $15 for the shower prize (in case we end up giving out two, a $10 and a $5; I don't know anything about shower games) and I scratched off the other two. I won on both of them, $1 on one, and $40 on the other. Cool! I don't think I've won a thing on a scratch-off in thirty years. Or on anything else, for that matter. Paid for the wedding shoes, anyway! Now if only I could win the Mega Millions tonight.

(One of my new lottery fantasies, btw, in addition to the first-class trip for everyone I know to Disney World, and new cars for all of us, and a nice house with a dining room, closets, doors on all the bedrooms and more than one bathroom, is a second home: a loft in Hoboken or in New York, in the Village. A place with high bookshelves that roll on tracks and have a rolling ladder to reach the top so there's room for all my books, and high ceilings with brick walls and a stainless steel kitchen and easy access to the theater whenever I want. This is new for me.)

Tonight is R's last night in the city for the class she's taking, which is performace related, so she's in a show tonight. I was originally going to go in and see it, but she's planning on taking another class in the summer, so I'll go see that one instead. Despite my recent renewed interest in the city, I'm still not keen an actually going there. I mean, I am keen on it, I'm just not ready to put all those fears aside, just yet. I'm still in the thinking stages.

The clocks are changing over to Daylight Saving Time next week, and I was thinking about that before, and I think that's really somehow the official start of spring (and end of fall at the end of October.) I really like it now that it starts getting dark maybe around 6:15, but how much better will it be next week? Oh, I can't wait. And that first week, sun up should come around 6:45 am, which is just fine; it'll still be dark when I get up, but light by the time I leave for work. Excellent. And it looks like we're going to have some days in the 60s range next week, too. Ohhhhhh, yes.

I watched some of The Twentieth Century last night, and although I didn't stick with the whole thing, I found John Barrymore very interesting to watch. Amazing how they managed to film him in profile whenever humanly possible. I didn't find the plot especially compelling, and I wasn't all that taken with Carole Lombard, but Barrymore was certainly intriguing. Oh, here's the other thing I noticed:

Charles Lane was in this movie.

Do you know who Charles Lane is? Of course you do; everyone does. He's this guy. Also here. I understand that there was a tribute to him on the TV Land Awards, but I didn't see that part of it. He also spoke briefly, on film, at the SAG Awards last month. It seems he recently celebrated his 100th birthday, has said he's still available for work, and was one of the founding members of the the Screen Actors Guild, possibly the only founding member still alive, or at least, active. There can't be anyone who's ever seen a movie or watched any TV show who hasn't seen this guy. Fascinating to think of the actors he's worked with in his life: John Barrymore in this movie, Lionel Barrymore in It's a Wonderful Life, and more recently, doofuses like Kirk Cameron and Larry Miller. He was also in Murphy's Romance, one of my all-time faves, in a cute little part; I thought he was 100 then. Imagine, 100 years old. How has the world changed in his lifetime? Boggles the mind.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Golden Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here