the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

What Did You Say? 707

03.26.2005

3:27 pm

Today's earlier entry is here.

Okay, so I went to pick up K at the train today, and while I was doing that, the Hubs and R went over to his aunt and uncles's to wish them a happy Easter, and pick up the Italian Easter pie that Aunt makes and which is highly prized by all. As I've mentioned before, I am very sincerely fond of these two people, and always enjoy visiting with them, but I did not happen to go this time. Once we were all home, I asked how they were and so on, and the Hubs tells me ...

That his uncle, who has serious hearing problems that have worsened terribly with age, has these incredible new hearing aids! They're wireless, and he even has a remote that he can lay down on the table when people are talking and it's a microphone, so it amplifies the speakers' voices and he can hear it in his hearing aids! Wow!

It took me a moment before I even knew what to say to him. And then I said "Oh. Like mine?" And he looks mystified. So I said, "You know, like mine. Like the thing I got in January that they're replacing on Monday." He looks blank, as does R.

Are they crazy, or am I? I said to them both, "You've seen me use the whole contraption. You know, I hook it up to the TV? It's supposed to work with the cell phone?"

Well, I'm not crazy, and I didn't "forget" to tell him about it, which is what he'd like me to believe. I wonder how many times over the years he has let me think that I've forgotten to tell him stuff that he just didn't listen to when I said it. Or maybe he has a hearing problem; you know, he does do that other thing that I say something to him and he just doesn't answer, like I'm not there. (He doesn't do it often, but he does it sometimes.) As for R, I don't know what the hell is wrong with her; she certainly knows about my contraption and has seen me fiddle with it on the TV a thousand times, trying to get it to work. And the Hubs finally did admit that he knew I had wireless hearing aids now, and since I got this stuff all together, there's really no chance I didn't tell him about the remote thing, too.

Certainly makes me want to tell him more stuff that he isn't going to listen to. Sheesh.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching VH1
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here