the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

So, Today ... 710

03.30.2005

8:08 pm

Was another in a series of weird Psycho days, but before I get to that I want to link to this from this week's Newsweek, because I thought it was ver to the point:

It's from Newsweek; I forget what it's called.

Okay. If you saw The Office last night, then you might have some idea of what might be about to break at Bizarro World High School. Apparently at the faculty meeting on Monday, which I missed because I wasn't in that day, she made some odd remarks about the changing demographic of BizarroTown, N.J. and there were racial overtones and not in a good way. I was not there so I can't speak to how truly horrendous it was, although the Chum filled me in, and I understand that one of the few African-American teachers on our staff was pretty pissed off and said something. Good. Unfortunately, as the Chum pointed out, the Psycho makes Bill Clinton look like he's coated with sandpaper. Nothing sticks to her. But maybe something will happen here.

In the meantime, she is continuing with the Chai Love, which as you may know creeps me out totally, way more than when she's being the Raving Psycho, because at least you know where you stand with a Raving Psycho. She did two very supportive things for me today, in one case coming to a meeting where I was making a case for something and when I was finished telling them in no uncertain terms to do what I was asking them to do, but not next year, now. So that's weird.


Okay, I started writing this at about 6:30, but since the last sentence I've been on the phone with K (senior year starting to look a little less scary), the Sibs (still not smoking) and Wonderful Niece (Shower? I don't know nothin' about no shower!) and now Lost is on, and since TV.Is.My.Life I shall have to go watch and obsess and eat W8 Watching ice cream. And I could send in that wedding response card, too. (Oh, is that why she called? Hmmmm?)

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Lost
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here