the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

How Many Times Do I Have to Tell Them? 710

03.29.2005

3:50 pm

If it's so easy for you to find an article on the Internet and copy and paste it and call it your term paper, how hard could it be for me to find it, too, and prove that you copied it?

In this case, not hard at all. A teacher got in three word-for-word identical papers. I typed the topic into AskJeeves, the lazy student's search engine of choice, and bingo. The first hit. Because plagiarizers don't even have the sense to look down the list and copy from something less obvious. As I have explained to them again and again and again and again, I too am familiar with these techniques. If they can do it, I can find it.

Heh heh heh.

It's 2:00 in the library and I'm fading fast. My little triumph of a moment ago literally took less than three minutes. My sleeping last night was just fine, except for the part between 1:30 and 3:30 when I was wide awake listening to the Hubs snore. I did not enjoy that part. I actually did get up and read, which I never do when I can't sleep, but I was just reading a part of Harry I had been listening to earlier but didn't get all of because it was when I was testing the New Magic Hearing Aid. Which so far seems to be working as it's supposed to, which is to say, not exactly as I'd like it to.

The SCM is out this afternoon at the dentist, and he is certainly the only person who has ever had to go to the dentist, or whoever will. The Colleague says he was going on about it all day yesterday, too, when I was out. She has had so much extensive dental work in the last few years that it would make his head spin, but he doesn't know because she doesn't talk about it. He's such a baby. (Not that you won't hear about my next bout here, but briefly, I promise. And if you don't want to read it -- which I can sympathize with -- you'll just click that little x up there. Next month.)

I've got a good Psycho story for today too, but I'm just too tired to write it. And there may be another chapter tomorrow, so I'll save it for then.


I'm home now and funnily enough, Dr. Phil's show today is about kids cheating and copying from the Internet and such. I set up the VCR to tape it when it's on another channel later, since I'm sure the teacher I worked with today is going to be attacked by parents defending their kids, even though she's got them dead to rights.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Dr. Phil
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here