the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

It's Always Something 714

04.03.2005

9:40 am

but first ...

ol>

  • Renewal::
  • Someone to talk to:: teddy bear
  • Count:: Hah Hah HAH!
  • Expiration:: date
  • Upload:: download
  • Publish:: or Perish
  • Holy:: Moley
  • Change in the air:: Mary Poppins
  • Titillating:: this word always makes me giggle
  • Glorious:: Cause

    The shower was lovely yesterday, but the weather was truly horrific. By the time we got into the restaurant and got all the gifts and other stuff that we had to bring inside, we were completely drenched and wind-blown. The rain was torrential, but it was the wind that was really scary. Couldn't open the car doors for a few minutes. It would have been an amazing setting in nice weather, because Manhattan was literally right outside our window.

    Yes, that's my wonderful Niece, actually in one of her more sedate moments. (See the river and the city out the window behind her?) R made the bride's bow-hat and did a remarkable job, especially considering that she had never even heard of such a ridiculous thing until the day before the shower.

    I don't guess there are any more pictures I can show, since it's really not up to me to post these people all over the Internet. There are no pictures of me, of course, because I was taking the pictures. Par for the course.

    It was interesting how many of us there in the shower-lull moments were asking if any latecomers had more information about the pope, and we were discussing it. We heard on the radio on the way home that he had died. As the Sibs pointed out, it looked to her as if he had arranged everything so that he could teach people how to die. He certainly did it with dignity, and not because of his office. He went to God according to his beliefs, as anyone could do. Caring for his flock up until the very end.

    I am completely exhausted, and I slept like a rock. (I also ate like a little piggy yesterday. Oh, I was so good with the miso soup and the grilled chicken salad, and then the waiter said "Would you like some ice cream with your cake?" and it was all over.) I would like to spend this entire day napping, doing the occasional load of laundry, getting my clothes put away in my closet, and taking K to the train. Ah .... no.

    This is what we have to do today. The Hubs' youngest first cousin, who is actually only 10 years older than R, so he's 34, got married in November. He got married in Florida, because his wife wanted to be married on the beach. (Neither of them live in or were raised in Florida. Her mother and second or third husband live there now.) But the beach she wanted had been destroyed by the hurricanes. So they had a tiny ceremony for the immediate family on a corner of the beach and then the reception afterwards nearby. We did not go. (It was Thanksgiving weekend.) The ILs did not go; this is the son of the MIL's sister. So now, the MIL's sister and her husband are making a wedding reception up here in New Jersey, and it's today. It's at a ritzy country club in an upscale area. I've got to dress up (ugh) and it's an hour or more away. The ILs will be there, including the SIL and her husband.

    Here's the real fun: the MIL is not so much on speaking terms with her sister, nor is the SIL with her aunt and cousins. The sister (my Hubs' aunt) is pissed because none of the family went down to the Florida to not see her son get married. The SIL is pissed because none of these people RSVPd to a big party she had last summer. The MIL is pissed because the groom, who is old enough to know better, didn't even say hello to her last year at his engagement party.

    The Hubs and I, it seems, are the only ones who have no axe to grind, we just HATE THESE THINGS WITH A BURNING PASSION and are only going because the MIL wants us to hang out with her brother, who lives out of the country, but who's dropping by for this little soiree today.

    My house is a mess, I can't open my closet door without a crowbar, and you'd think I was the only adult female in this house and folding the clean towels is something that only I am capable of doing. I've already been to ShopRite today, and seriously, I just wish that other people would stop making plans for me and leave me the hell alone and let me sleep and do my wash. Is that too much too ask?

    And I haven't even had a chance to get to the really good serious shit that's going on at school this week. To borrow an expression from Chandler on Friends, "Can ... open. Worms ... everywhere!" Don't be surprised if I use that again in the next day or two. Amazing things are happening.

    Okay, off to the snooty country club and horse farm hinterlands of some other New Jersey that I don't live in.

    --------------------------------------------------
    I'm watching news
    --------------------------------------------------

    last :: next

    Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
    So ... - 12.19.2006
    Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
    Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
    A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

  • Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
    Click here to read
    how this page
    is protected by
    copyright laws.

    teolor here