the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Now I'm Reading The Good Earth 716

04.05.2005

8:13 pm

I stayed up until almost midnight last night reading, which I never do because I so crave sleep. But I was bored around 9:00 and so I picked up the book I was reading, which is the second in the Traveling Pants series and read it until the end. I'll admit that I was also motivated because someone asked me last week in the library if we had this book and I promised to bring it in for her as soon as I finished it.

By the time I got home from school today, though, I was soooooo tired. I had a long list of things to do -- the Sibs says I have more errands to do than anyone she's ever heard of -- but I fell asleep on the couch instead. And then I got up and went out to dinner with the Sibs, as we had arranged yesterday. So that was really really nice to do. And then, as I had hoped, I had a little more energy after eating a lot of nice grilled shrimp, so I finally got my laundry done and put away and straightened out my closet a little bit when I got home. I moved all the stuff I got at Costco recently from the living room down to the basement. I took the dry cleaning out to the car. Hear me roar.

(Now, how weird is this cat? There's a chair in the living room where we put the stuff that has to go to the dry cleaners, which is mostly the shirts the Hubs wears to work every day, but sometimes I throw a shirt or a sweater there, too. We also stack there the wire hangers that the dry cleaners puts the clean shirts on, since we take them back when we bring in more clothes. It's not a comfortable chair, but I could understand the cat curling up on the pile of shirts and stuff. But she doesn't. When I came home today, she was curled up on the pile of wire hangers. Quel freak.)

Among the psychotic current events at school recently, there's a security crackdown, of sorts, and they announced last week that they were going to check to see that each student had an I.D. card. They announced on Tuesday afternoon that they would be checking on Friday. So on Wednesday morning, I had an announcement made reminding everyone that I only make replacement I.D. cards on Wednesdays. About 15 kids came in on Wednesday for new cards, which was fine. I only do it one day a week because otherwise I would never be able to leave my desk; as it is I make sure I have desk work to do on Wednesdays that can be interrupted constantly.And I don't leave the camera out all the time because one was stolen once, so I lock it up the rest of the time and only take it out on Wednesday.

Remember the old Bugs Bunny cartoon where Elmer Fudd is looking for Bugs and there are like a million signs all pointing towards the hole in the ground that say "Rabbit!"? So the library is now awash with signs saying that I only make I.D. cards on Wednesdays. Because ever since Thursday morning, people have been coming in and saying to me "I need an I.D. card."

I point to a sign. Blank look.

"So, can I get one?"

"Yes, on Wednesday."

Blank look. (One girl, on Friday, asked me at this point, "So. Can I get it on Monday?" "No," I said.)

Then they ask "What's going to happen when they check in homeroom and I don't have it?"

(How the hell would I know?) I did tell a few kids that it would be "public humiliation" but I quit that; they didn't get it anyway. I said that they would have to take whatever the penalty was going to be. (Turns out it's lunch detention.) Horrors! They can't believe that they would actually have to accept the penalty for something that they actually did wrong! (Or in this case, didn't do right.) Not that everyone was snotty, not by a long shot, but I was incredulous at the number of people who looked at the signs that I put there and expected me to make an exception just for litle old them.

So tomorrow I will indeed set up the equipment and be snapping pictures all the live-long day. What fun. Glad I went back for that extra degree.

Okay, time to unload the dryer again.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Gilmore Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here