the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Flash! 720

04.09.2005

8:39 am

It's Saturday, and I'm writing Saturday's entry. But that's not the kind of flash I'm talking about.

I slept oddly, although I slept, because sometime in the middle of the night the night before I lost my nightguard, which is the retainer-like thing I put in my mouth at night to keep me from grinding teeth/clenching jaw so I won't wakeup with my jaw all tense and locked up. (And you think that's more than you need to know.) I didn't know if I was going to get to sleep at all, but I did. How, the curious are asking, could I have lost something in the middle of the night that was in my mouth?

I don't know.

Oh, I've taken it out in the night before, plenty of times. I look for it as soon as I wake up and I find it under my pillow, or on the blankets or on the floor, and often, still in my hand, with one finger curled around it to hold onto it. But Thursday night, I got up around 3 to pee and get a drink, so I took it out, put it in its case on the night-table, went out, and when I came back, it was gone. I'm sitting on the floor with the flashlight, looking everywhere. Did the same thing when I woke up in the morning, and when I got home from school. The cats don't get in there while we're asleep, so I know they don't have it.

It's a mystery.

Then my alarm went off this morning at 5:30, but I can't tell where the sound is coming from of course, so when the Hubs got up and started getting dressed, I assumed it was his, and I said "Please turn that off!" and he said "It's yours." Oh. I apologized and went back to sleep, and slept until around 7:30, when I woke up on my own. So sleeping later is nice, however, I've been pretty much flashing ever since then (about an hour.) I'm not enjoying this.

For the uninitiated and testosterone-enriched among us, this means that my face is hot. It might be red, too; I'm not running for the mirror. It's mostly my face, although I've already gone from a long-sleeved tee to a short-sleeved to a sleeveless in the attempt to cool off. (Yes, of course I'm drinking coffee. Some things Must.Not.Be.Changed. Can't give in to the whim of every little hormonal swing.) And last night as I was trying to relax my jaws and fall asleep, I was beset by waves of shivering cold. Aside from the wanting to kill people thing, the most annoying thing about menopause is definitely this broken inner thermostat thing. People sometimes complain about their skin changing, getting dryer and looking old and stuff, but you know, as I get older, I really do expect to look older. I'm funny that way. The skin changing gets more of an "Oh, look at that," from me than "Omigod I can't sleep I'm so cold omigod I'm so hot I can't live."

In honor of having no weekend to myself last weekend, I'm leaving in about an hour to get a nice pedicure. And a haircut on Monday. (That has nothing to do with the weekend, I'm just going.)

Here's the other thing, and I meant to put this first, but I didn't, so it's here, and I may run it again as well. I've seen a few notices here and there about people walking for the March of Dimes, and not to take away from anyone else on Dland who's taking part in this fine endeavor, but if you don't know anyone participating and you'd like to donate but you haven't thought about who to donate to, try Tara.

Long time readers will remember than I wrote about Kaitlyn when she was born. She's now a year old, and as you can see on her mother Tara's page, she credits the March of Dimes and their work with helping Kaitlyn to survive. Kaitlyn's grandmother is a very dear friend of mine, and she would be completely mortified if she knew I was pimping her daughter-in-law's site here, since it was pulling teeth to get her to give it to me so I could donate. So don't tell her where you found it, but if you're looking for a place to donate to the March of Dimes, why not here? Kaitlyn is so cute!

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Beatles on the radio
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here