the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Under My Nose, As It Were 724

04.13.2005

6:33 pm

So here in my little corner of the world, there's a very nice county park system; the one I'm most familiar with is not far from where I live. I've mentioned it before and taken pictures there before, too. But about a year and a half ago, they completed the path that links two of the parks, and I've never walked that part before. This new section goes right past a historical landmark that I've seen almost all of my life, but had never walked right up to before. There was never a way to get there until recently, really, and the thing was a wreck and all overgrown. But now they've restored it and they keep it all nice, so yesterday I thought I'd take a look.

Of course, I had to start by taking one of those really close-up shots I love so much.



Then I walked along the river and got these:







and I got closer to where the two parks link under the highway







and then I could see, around the bend, the Old Mill.



It's a colonial era mill, the water wheel run by the river, and built by the Dutch settlers that were all over the place here. I do know the whole history of it, but I'd have to look up the details, and that book's in school. But it was used for bullets and such during the revolution, for wool cloth at some other time, and so on. It was used until maybe 100 years ago, and then they let it fall apart. But the restoration was nicely done.





Funny, I've seen castles in Wales close up, but never before this neat old building right in my own backyard. (So to speak.) Not that it's as old as a Welsh castle, but it's pretty much as old as we get here, probably first built around 1640 or so. It was a good walk, but even more, a really good thing to see for myself, at last.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Seinfeld
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here