the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

1967 All Over Again 725

04.13.2005

7:01 pm

First, yesterday's walk in the park and the neat thing I saw there is here. Yes, it's one of those dreaded two-entry days.

I'll get to the 1967, but it's a school thing and I didn't go to school today. I had an extremely weird sleeping experience last night. I slept, but I woke up every five or ten minutes after about 1:30. I got up and out of bed for about ten minutes at 1:30 because I was thirsty or something and I kept having a looping dream that I had gotten up, was drinking something, and then I was still in bed. It was like Groundhog Day except in a three-minute loop instead of a day. And when I went back to bed I kept waking up. And if I didn't know this was menopause I would swear that I had malaria. Anyway, I hit the snooze twice (because no matter what, I almost always sleep from about 5:00 on; my alarm goes off at 5:30) and I was so disoriented that I could not get it together to get up, shower, dress, make lunch, eat breakfast, and so on. I called in sick, emailed the SCM and the Chum, and went back to bed. Then my day got strange.

When I got out of bed an hour later, having not so much slept as spaced out, I stripped the bed and put in a wash, and of course I found the missing nightguard tucked into the blanket somewhere under the bed. Hmmm. I went off to the big housewares store and got a nice new pillow and some other junk and then stopped for coffee (my fourth cup of the day, actually) on the way home and who should be waiting in line right in front of me but my wonderful friend E.

E -- you could check the cast list, which I think says "them" at the top of the page -- is still one of my dearest people, but since she retired (about five years ago, maybe) she is always either traveling or looking after her grandchildren, so I don't see her that often. So now this felt like it was meant to be that I didn't go to work today, because I ran into her. And arranged a lunch with her and the Chum for two weeks from now, when we have Spring Break. So, yay!

Then when I got home I called a few doctors I've been needing to reach; got one right away, but the other two said they'd call back. So then I was home for the day, because I don't need to play phone tag with doctor's offices. One of them, the office called back around 3:30, a very unsatisfying phone call. ("So is there a diet I should be following?" I ask, since that was the message I left in the morning. "Oh, the doctor didn't say," said the person. "So I guess I'll find it on the Internet, eh?" I said sarcastically. "Oh, yes," she agreed, "that's a good idea." Time to find a new gastroenterologist.) I won't even go into the other one, which was worse. They never called; I called them back at 5:00 and asked if I was still supposed to be waiting at home for their call, or if they meant by 5:00 tomorrow.

So here's the 1967 thing. I have absolutely spun into a timewarp. (Again. Heh heh.) Remember, I take pictures for the freshman I.D. cards every year in September or October, so I see all the freshmen then. I saw them this year, too. Short haircuts were all the rage, for the boys. There was maybe one with longer hair, kind of a retro hippie look. One.

There were five freshmen classes in the library Monday and Tuesday, and Holy Carnaby Street, Batman! Nearly every boy has longer, shaggy hair. The ends are uneven, the bangs are falling over their eyes. (My 15 year old nephew, my sister's husband's son, has the same.) But wait ... this is familiar. Where have I seen this before?

It was in my junior high school yearbook. Junior high school for me was grades 7 - 9, so the yearbook was for my freshman year of high school. All the boys were cool, had long hair and stuff, but when the yearbook came out, we could see that in September of that year they'd all had buzzcuts or something similar. No bangs anywhere. But by June, they were all British looking, kind of like the Animals, or any one of those groups.

Exactly the same haircuts I'm seeing on the freshman boys now.

Excuse me, I think I left the lights on in my Delorean.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Daily Show
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here