the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Another Boring Day 726

04.14.2005

3:50 pm

I got this from poolagirl.



Your Linguistic Profile:



50% General American English

40% Yankee

10% Dixie

0% Midwestern

0% Upper Midwestern

For the record, we call the night before Halloween "Goosey Night," but that wasn't one of the choices. And the aunt/ant thing; I say ant, but I know plenty of people around here who say "ahnt." Anyway, I love this language stuff. More, more!


I have spent the day in documentation hell, writing out all the MLA examples for the new revision of the school's stylebook (another hat that I wear, the Stylebook maven), and tomorrow I'll be descending another level or two into APA. The last time I revised the book and printed it, I was able to keep it down to about 10 pages, maybe 12. Now just the MLA directions and examples are 10 pages long; the whole thing together -- how to use the library, do research, avoid plagiarism, yada yada yada -- would probably be about 50 pages long, which I'm guessing no one in the school system would want to print for me, nor would I ask any kid to carry it around. So now it's just going to be on the web, with the option to print out the MLA or APA stuff, if anyone wants to. God, that was boring, but that's what I spent my day doing. That and I'm getting my 10,000 steps a day in on trips to the bathroom, but that's TMI. Sorry.

We're going to bypass our next scheduled Coffee House -- I didn't even know there was one scheduled -- and have a movie night instead. Halleleujah. I figure as long as I'm going to prison for copyright infringement on the MLA, I might as well toss in a public-showing-of-a-film-without-permission, too. But we're not going to charge for it, only ask anyone who wants to bring cookies or brownies for the group, or make a donation to a charity. GSA is not a for-profit organization. I can't believe there are this many kids in school -- a lot, apparantly -- who haven't seen The Birdcage. I think I've seen it literally dozens of times; there are lines from it on my quotations page. It was a nice choice for the kids to make, I think it'll be fun. Three weeks to go for that one.

I'm writing early today. Now I'm off to the bank and then I'll settle in and start reading the final projects from that class I'm taking online. Yes, it's nearly over. It's been an experience.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Dr. Phil
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here