the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Why Yes, I AM in a Bad Mood 730

04.19.2005

7:20 pm

According to the SCM, I had a "tone" in my voice when I came in today.

According to Eric, 4th period, he can't talk to me today because I'm in a "very bad mood." (More about Eric at another time.)

I am not in a very bad mood, at least, I didn't wake up that way. I slept an hour later this morning because I was going in late; I had to wait for the cable guy. Who came between 8 and 9, as promised. It took him an hour, during which time I was without both TV and Internet, so that probably didn't make me happy. But it's all fixed and it's fine.

I got to work at 10. I was here about ten minutes when the SCM said something about how were we going to handle the fact that Tuesdays are my early days, but I wasn't in early today, he was (we both get in at the same time every day, we just leave early or late on different days). And that's when the top of my head blew off.

As soon as he said it, I could feel my blood pressure rise. Why is he always so fucking petty about this? And after last week, when the issue of the library's afternoon hours was complained about by a teacher and a supervisor and then brought up to us by the Psycho? Again? (She supported us, by the way, always a surprise.)

I told him I couldn't even answer him because he wouldn't like I would say. He didn't let this go, and about a half hour later we talked, so we're "better" now. (I'm typing this right after lunch; it's still my lunch period, although I'm at my desk.)

I never ever want this issue of our hours to be raised ever ever again. I hate it. It never comes out right, and I can't stand that he's so petty about the 15 or 20 minutes or whatever it is. Teaching is not like that. I don't want my hours extended, certainly, on a regular basis without compensation, but if it's time to go and a kid is working here, I'll stay the five or ten minutes, or whatever, until he's done. The SCM would never do that; I understand that when it's his late day, he starts shooing them out or not letting them in five minutes before he leaves, which is when he leaves the library, which is five minutes before sign-out time, at which point he's starting his car.

I'm going to use this term lightly, which I rarely do, and don't believe in doing, but I'm going to do it anyway:

I hate him today.

I hate that he brought this up again, and I hate that he made me angry and now I feel rotten and everyone thinks I'm in a bad mood (which I guess I am, now) and I hate rude assholes who get in your way in the halls or on the roads and teachers who act like they teach the only subjects with any value and the rest of us are for shit and I'm not too wild about the Psycho and if they don't yank that uterus the hell out of me I can't be held accountable for my actions.

Thank you for your time.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching The Simpsons
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here