the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Bandwagons R Me 736

04.24.2005

6:35 pm

Because I hate being the only kid not at the party, I got one of these







from here, too.



Isn't it interesting, making the avatars or whatever they are? Makes you think about yourself and what you really look like and what your defining characteristics really are. Or possibly, I'm way overthinking this.



I don't like any photographs taken of me since December, 1991, because a photograph freezes your face in a moment, and my face looks way better when there's some animation there. I think that I look like I'm grimacing in all pictures since the brain surgery, but again, I may be overthinking here. The Colleague was saying just the other day that it's amazing how virtually none of the paralysis still shows, and she's probably looking right at my face more than anyone else does. I know that I look way better than I did, but I don't look at myself all the time, I just see photographs here and there. Which I don't like. (Yes, I look in a mirror every day, but just to see that my hair's in place and I watch myself putting on make-up. Other than that, I don't, so I never really see my own face in regular life. I mean, who does?)



Oh, I know it's not Friday.



1. What is the first record/tape/CD that you bought? The first 45 -- that's a single -- that was bought for me was Running Bear by Johnny Preston. I also remember when my mother came home with Meet the Beatles; she had to stand on line for it. Probably the first album I bought for myself was The Beatles Second Album. I also remember getting Simon and Garfunkel, I think the first one I bought was Parsely, Sage, Rosemary and Thyme.



2. Who is your favorite all time band/singer? The Beatles. If there was a radio station that played all Beatles, all the time, I would listen to it all the time.



3. What have you been listening to lately? Having recently finished listening to the audibook of Harry Potter and the Phoenix, I'm back to music. I'm working on a mix to play while I'm walking, so I've been listening to the different incarnations of that. It's oldies, rock, and pop, basically. Anything I had and found that had the right beat.



4. What is your favorite radio station, what do they play, and where do they broadcast? I've been listening to WCBS-FM, an oldies station in New York, since the early 70s, when it first started. Before that I listened to WABC-AM, which was the top 40s station in New York, the only one after WMCA changed its format. Some of the DJs I still listen to came from those two stations, and are still on the air. Harry Harrison is probably 100 years old. I love him.



5. Can you recommend a good song or CD that everyone should listen to? No. I find that people who really know music find my taste less than sophisticated or knowledgeble, so I just listen happily to what I like and keep it to myself.








I like to read what they call "women's magazines," you know, the kind that you can pick up at the supermarket checkout. (Not the newspapery tabloidy ones.) Anyway, I was reading one just before and it occurred to me that not only have I probably read the same articles again and again, I wonder How. Many. Times. I have read that it's a good idea to get things ready at night for the next morning, like school lunches, kids' backpacks, and so on? How many times do they write this and present it each time as the great new solution to time management? It's enough already! Or as my grandma would have demanded "GANOOG!" emphasis on the noog. (It's Yiddish for "It's enough already!")



and from here:


  1. Detachment:: aloof
  2. Regard:: warm
  3. Community:: town
  4. Strike three:: yer out!
  5. Congregation:: synagogue
  6. Generous:: warmth
  7. Pretention:: wannabe
  8. Pregnant:: long
  9. Drinking:: milk
  10. Brilliance:: shine

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Sideways
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here