the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

I'm a Bit Off 737

04.25.2005

8:25 pm

This is how late my entry is today:

chaosdaily has already posted hers.

The Sibs said something at dinner tonight -- more on that in a moment -- about how she sees more OCD behaviors in herself as she gets older. I said Me, Too. One of the things I've been noticing lately, and it's not a bad thing, but something I've noticed, is what signals "End of the Day" to me. It happens almost every night, could be anywhere between 7:00 and 9:00, but usually towards the earlier end. Here's what happens, but not always in this order:


  1. I finish crossing off the list of stuff I've done today, and sometimes make a new list for tomorrow.

  2. I take off my pedometer and enter the steps and miles in the log I have for that.

  3. I enter breakfast and sometimes lunch for tomorrow in the W8 Watchers online food log.

  4. I eat a W8 Watchers ice cream pop.

  5. I read chaosdaily's diary. Usually, but not always, she's the last one on my buddy list to post every day. If anyone else has updated, I read that too, of course, but I don't always check the list again after I've read chaos.

  6. I take my night-time medications, including the great big chewable pill for that joint-health stuff.

  7. I put out my vitamin and great big chewable pill for the morning.

I think the two things that really close off my day are reading chaos and putting out my pills for the morning. One tells me I'm finished with the outside world for the day, and the other says I'm finished looking after myself for the day.

The question is, is this all really so weird? All my life I've quested after routine, a reasonable way to get things under control that I've always felt escaped me in the past. When I was a kid, I lost my keys so much, even after I started driving, that I trained myself to always put my keys in the same place, either on a certain table in my parents' house, or in some specific place ever since then. If I'm out, I never put my keys back in my bag, if I'm carrying one, but always in a right front pocket, jeans (preferably) or jacket. It's a routine, it's how I learned to cope with being essentially disorgranized.

Is my evening ritual routine just a bit much? Could very well be. Makes me happy.


This afternoon, the Sibs and R and Wonderful Niece and I went bra shopping so we could all wear the right thing under our wedding wear. Sizes previously unknown to us were purchased by all. When you go to a real ... okay, here it is again: corsetorium, you get the right kind of help. We were there for an hour.

We wasted time for awhile afterwards until it was dinner time, and then the Sibs' boys, so to speak, met us for dinner at a restaurant. Her son J2, who is the twin brother of Wonderful Niece, has just recently moved back here from out of state, so it was great to see him and we are all very very happy that he's back. The Sibs also has acquired a son via her current husband (aka The Keeper) whom I shall call The Boy. He's all the way up to 15 now, and is a good kid. (Could it be that I have never talked about him before? Hmm.) So we had a lovely dinner, the six of us, with much talk of the wedding coming up in ... says the bride ... 39 days. Wow. Better get that outfit altered, hey?

Okay, as previously mentioned, I'm late. I have eaten the big chewable pill, I have read chaosdaily. Time to eat my ice cream and get ready for bed. Tomorrow I do battle with the Giant Computer Company over a bad CD-ROM drive.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Antiques Roadshow
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here