the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Last Day Off 741

04.29.2005

6:18 pm

Heavens, this week went by fast. I have all kinds of things on my list that I never got to, and I didn't finish a single book, although I have two days left for that. Waah! I don't want to go to work anymore!

My lunch for the ladies went quite nicely, a good time was had by all. I have a ton of food left, which I knew I would. I didn't make anything that wasn't healthy, particularly, but just eating a normal amount that you would have at this kind of lunch was more than I usually eat.

I turned my back for a few minutes before they got here, and Q jumped up on the table and ate a chunk out of one of the Passover rolls (which actually are kind of like baked matzo balls). Dang cats.

Let's see what this brings:

1. You have the summer and plenty of money to travel abroad. Where all would you go? I would certainly go to Disney World, because it's been four years, and that's too long. I've always wanted to go to Ireland, so maybe that. Or New Orleans, but I'm guessing that it's crazy to go there in the summer.

2. What foods would you be sure you got to eat? In DW, anything you can live on is fine; they're not known for their food. (Although the seafood buffet at one of those hotels near EPCOT, I forget which one, is great.) In Ireland, I don't know, Guinness? In New Orleans, I forget what it's called, but they are known for their food, so, that.

3. What landmarks would you be sure you got to see? In DW, everything's a landmark. In Ireland, I don't want to see a landmark so much as the countryside, castles, pubs. In New Orleans, catch the flavor of the city. The streetcars.

4. What airline would you use? Whatever gets me there.

5. Would your knowledge of other languages influence where you went? (i.e. would you be more likely to go to France if you spoke French?) Yes and no. I'm not picking any of these places because they speak exotic languages; however, I know I'm less comfortable in a placed I can't communicate. I can follow a conversation, or TV for that matter, in French or Spanish, but I still wouldn't want to go where those are the primary languages spoken.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Seinfeld
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here