the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Since Yesterday .. 740

04.28.2005

5:49 pm

Lost was terrible, but if you're a watcher, you already knew that. Worst clip show of any show ever. (You were right, Karen!)

I replaced the wireless card in the new/old computer, and with a Staples gift certificate, so it didn't even cost much, and I just looked at the website for the hotel where Wonderful Niece is getting married and they have a big notice: High-speed Internet Now Available in All Guest Rooms! Score!

I was unsuccesful in this morning's quest for dyable shoes, but R got some, and cute little evening bags that match the girls' dresses, one for her and one for her sister. I will still be looking.

I've got Passover-safe rolls in the oven, and as soon as the egg substitute thaws, the Matzo kugel is on its way. I think it's the only thing I'm making for tomorrow that I've made before. My house smells like oil. Everything you make for Passover has oil in it, and I"m not talking olive oil, which is the usual smell of cooking in this house (since the Hubs is usually the one cooking.)

It's 1:30. I'm off to put a wash in the dryer.


It's 5:30. I have made the salads for tomorrow (btw, never use Kosher for Passover pasta; it's disgusting) and gotten all kinds of other things done. I am good. I have a bunch of things to do in the morning, but no real cooking, just a K-for-P cake from a mix.

The Passover-safe rolls, it so happens, were/are fabulous! Who'd'a guessed? They were very heavy in the hand -- nothing leavened, or, risen, in there -- but tasted really really good. The ingredients are matzo meal, salt, sugar, water, oil, and eggs. And they were nicely bready inside.

Last night there were several really sharp bolts of bright lightning, and several minutes later thunder so loud it shook the house. What must that have felt like right where the storm was, I wonder? It made the cat jump. Then just a few minutes ago I heard thunder; it isn't dark yet or even that overcast, so I didn't see the lightning. This is an odd time of year for lightning storms, I think. It's been very windy but not that rainy, even during the thunder and lightning. Odd weather. It hasn't been the best weather for a week off, but it hasn't been dreadful. Mostly cold, in the high 50s; too cold for late April-almost May.

Okay. I tumbled one of the slipcovers in the dryer to suck out the cat hair, time to put it back on the couch. I'll try not to have one of those good rolls for dinner; one a day is all the points I can take.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching Gilmore Girls
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here