the purple chai
now :: then :: me :: them

a fifty-something under-tall half-deaf school librarian in the jersey suburbs with two grown kids and time on her hands

Libraries will get you through times of no money better than money will get you through times of no libraries.


links
:: quotations :: profile :: email :: :: host :: the weary traveler

Not Normal 750

05.10.2005

7:46 pm

I was going to write one of those typically snarky things, but I'm off snark, and a little pre-occupied with some very odd news that I hope I can report the resolution of tomorrow.

My elderly aunt is missing.

This is the aunt in Florida that the girls and I visited two years ago. I don't have a great many details, but it seems that she left her son's house around 3:30 to make the 30 minute drive home, but never arrived. My sister was supposed to go and see her tomorrow, it so happens, so my cousin her son is calling with bulletins from time to time, and she's calling me. So far, nothing.

This is a woman of 88 or 89 years. So the real question is, why are her shithead sons still letting her drive a car, and on highways, no less? There's more to that story, I guess, but for now, I'm hoping that she's just disoriented somewhere and that kindly policemen are driving her home. I'd rather not consider the alternatives. She's a wealthy woman driving a Lexus and probably carrying a wad of cash and her customary dripping with jewelry. She has a cellphone, but probably doesn't know how to turn it on. At least, she hasn't yet.

Keep your fingers crossed.

--------------------------------------------------
I'm watching nothing
--------------------------------------------------

last :: next

Sweet Sorrow - 06.12.2007
So ... - 12.19.2006
Christmastime Is Near - 12.18.2006
Fifteen Years - 12.17.2006
A Message From Our Sponsor - 12.16.2006

Powered by Copyright Button(TM)
Click here to read
how this page
is protected by
copyright laws.

teolor here